BOOK REVIEW: Matched, #3: Reached by Ally Condie

3 stars


Synopsis:


Cassia’s journey began with an error, a momentary glitch in the otherwise perfect facade  of the Society. After crossing canyons to break free, she waits, silk and paper smuggled against her skin, ready for the final chapter.

The wait is over.

One young woman has raged against those who threaten to keep away what matters most– family, love, choice. Her quiet revolution is about to explode into full-scale rebellion. With exquisite prose, the emotionally gripping conclusion to the international bestselling Matched trilogy returns Cassia, Ky, and Xander to the Society to save the one thing they have been denied for so long, the power to choose.
~


from dust jacket

BE PREPARED FOR SPOILERS AHEAD

I’m glad to say Reached didn’t let me down, at least not completely ~
Okay. So Reached starts off with now 3 different P.O.V’s : Xander’s, Cassia’s , and Ky’s.
It starts with Xander tending to a sick patient. At first I didn’t think it was all that important, but that was mostly what happened. The virus was probably like 95% of what was talked about in the book. I found it all really boring, until the part when Xander and Oker were talking about the cure and virus. I found that interesting when they were talking about the Soceity’s history with the Enemy. I wished that Ally would give a clear answer as to who the Enemy was. Okay, Ky and Indie’s kiss. I didn’t like it. I don’t really like Indie’s character either. She was too unpredictable and reckless for my liking. I didn’t like how she liked Xander before they’ve met, and then decides that she loves Ky. Ky is my favorite character, but i do not like some of his decisions. I didn’t like when he kissed her back even though he knows he loves Cassia. Is this a new Society thing? Because people that are commited to someone aren’t supposed to kiss other people. Is it just me, but I love how you see the development of the characters, especially Cassia. But favorite part was when Cassia figured out that Lei Nea was Laney, i just freaked out. Then, everything started making sense. She was an Anomaly, her Match was gone. But when she fell in love with Xander, I feel selfish because i didn’t like how she started to love again, but I really liked her and Vick’s relationship. But that’s enough rambling about my thoughts… I really like how poetic this book is and how Ally incorporates
the poems in the story. This book is really deep. The way the characters talk about choices and life is thought provoking. Though most of the action was about the Plague, it didn’t have any other great obstacles. And I would like to have known what the Society thought about the “rebellion” and the Rising, because I doubt they would’ve been okay with it.

Pro’s :

 Way of speech/narration
 Character development

Con’s :

 Open-ended conclusion

Please Comment :)

