BOOK REVIEW: The Mortal Instruments, #1: City Of Bones by Cassandra Clare

5stars

Synopsis:

When Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder. Much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with odd markings. This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons—and keeping the odd werewolves and vampires in line. It’s also her first meeting with gorgeous, golden-haired Jace. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herslf is attacked by a demon, But why would demons be interested in an ordinary mundane like Clary? And how did she suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know….

from dust jacket ~

BE PREPARED FOR SPOILERS AHEAD.

Ooohh jeez. Oh my! This book is totally amazing and fantastic, It’s just soooooo good. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS BOOK TO ANYONE WITH A LIKING FOR FANTASY BOOKS. So, if you’re more of a non-fiction type of reader than you won’t really like this book, possibly. It’s so good. Honestly, at first I never thought I would like this book. I always thought that any book that has to do with faeries and vampires suck, but that is not the case for this book! Except for the name Clary Fray (which, if you didn’t know, does not roll off the tongue easily) the book is just perfect. And I’m just here rolling around on my bed shrieking “OH MY GODS, THEY WENT ON A DAAAATEEEEE. HE KISSED HERRRR! THEY SHOULD TOTALLLY HAVE BABIESSSSS!” , my mom thinks I’m insane. I don’t know if any of you are familiar with fangirl terms such as “shipping/ship/OTP” which can be defined as  — Short for romantic relationship, popularized in fanfiction circles; To endorse a romantic relationship (definition from UrbanDictionary.com)  , but I ship Jace and Clary!! Yup. Shippin’ it like FedEx! In the begining I shipped Clary and Simon, but uhh… obviously I don’t anymore.

I apologize but I need to let this allllll go—

I disliked Alec , but now i realize that he isn’t all that bad. He’s okay.

I actually like Isabelle. I think she’s a pretty decent character. I like how she helps Clary get dressed for Magnus’s party. I think she’s thoughtful and has potential to do some great things in the future (of this book series, of course). Even though she may seem cold, she’s caring. But I do not ship Isabelle with Simon.

Jace is very attractive and I reaaaaalllly like his character and I enjoy how sassy he is.

I was always suspicious of Hodge, and when he took the Cup from them, I just knew it was coming….. because I am freaking psychic. Haha, no .

I can’t wait to get to reading City of Ashes !

PRO’S:

✔ The SASS!

✔ The actual characters (they’re fantastically amusing)

✔ The plot is unique, At least I think it is.

Great use of vocabulary! I will definitely use some of these words in the future!

CON’S:

Needless to say, considering my rave, there are no cons.

Please Comment :)

