BOOK REVIEW: A Perfect Chemistry novel, #1- Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles

5stars

SYNOPSIS:

At Fairfield High School, on the outskirts of Chicago, everyone knows that south siders and north siders aren’t exactly compatible elements. So when head cheerleader Brittany Ellis and gang member Alex Fuentes are forced to be lab partners in chemistry class, the results are bound to be explosive. But neither teen is prepared for the most surprising chemical reaction of all–love. Can they break through the stereotypes and misconceptions that threaten to keep them apart?

from dust jacket ~

BE PREPARED FOR SPOILERS AHEAD

Oh my gods. This book. Man. THIS BOOK. I did not think I would enjoy it or react the way I did. It was just… soooooo good. It’s a romance novel, obviously. I don’t usually read romance novels but, this is an exception. Needless to say, I will be reading the rest in the series, whenever I get to it.

Oh jeezzusss. Alex Fuentes is a sexy badass. Just sayin’. I like how in this book there are spanish words, since I am hispanic I find it interesting. But, oh gosh. He made me mad, sad, happy, and everything in between. Good job, Ms.Elkeles. I applaud you for not making it sickeningly romantic. It had action, suspense, and parts where I wanted to punch someone through the pages. It was amazing. And the romantic parts didn’t make me want to claw my eyes out. So kudos to you. I will try giving romance books a chance before I judge them. Comment if there are any books similar to this series, or any good YA romance books . Anyway, I really just enjoyed reading this book. I was so happy at the end, I was tearing up. I was really mad at Brittany’s mom, honestly, I would yell at her back. I don’t care if she has freaking anxiety, I would scream at her to leave me alone. I was also very angry with the stupid bet Alex made with Lucky. He just sounded like a normal high school douche bag, but I understand he had to pretend to act like that. Brittany kind of just annoyed me with her “im so perfect” cover-up, which almost is true. She literally has everything. A perfect body, a perfect car, a perfect wardrobe, but a crazy life, not-so-perfect relationship, and fake friends. I love how Alex and Brittany fall in love when they realize their differences make then similar. It’s just so beautiful to see people come together like that. I like how this book has a moral and has different meanings; opposites attract, everyone has a story, etc.

PRO’S:

 The lessons

 The action

 Not sappy

CON’S:

none . It was a brilliant book.

ⓡⓐⓣⓘⓝⓖ:

★★★★☆ 4/5

Please Comment :)

