BOOK REVIEW: The Mortal Instruments, #3: City of Glass by Cassandra Clare

5stars

Synopsis:

To save her mother’s life, Clary travels to the City of Glass, the ancestral home of the Shadowhunters– never mind that by doingso she is breaking the Law, which could mean death. Even worse, Jace does not want her there, and Simon has been thrown in prison by Shadowhunters who are deeply suspicious of a vampire who can withstand sunlight. Luckily, Clary finds an ally in the mysterious Sebastian, who holds a strange attraction for her. As Valentine musters a demon army, can Downworlders and Shadowhunters put aside their ancient hatred and work together? And can Clary harness her newfound powers to help save them all– whatever the cost?

from dust jacket ~

BE PREPARED FOR SPOILERS AHEAD

Ok. So I literally have 100 pages left. and I cannot even. sfdxgcfhgvjbhkzlmcvzjxdiasdoaush;ondfawushdnogasdoufasndubfaisnpdfa0shidgnb . (even though i was already spoiled about this) Clary finds out Jace really isn’t her brother and shes just like nsagbdjasghosdbgashdfgasf . Gossssshh i ship Malec (Magnus and Alec) so HARD! They’re just so perfect. And of course since it’s me (I can never pick just one person to ship the main character with- except Percy Jackson) I ship both Clary and Jace & Clary and Simon , I just want them both together at the same time , even though it’s impossible! But I also ship Simon and Isabelle, so hopefully something happens. I know this is nothing to most people up north, but i’m from Florida and this isn’t typical, but it’s 39 FRIGGIN DEGREES OUTSIDE and the inside of my house is soo cold. My right hand is cold.  Which is weird, because my left hand isn’t, or my entire body, except my left foot, that’s cold too.. woaaaah . OFF TOPIC.

Anywho, this book is just so good (If you couldn’t tell by the fangirling above) . And UGGHH. SEBASTIAN. OR SHOULD I SAY… JONATHAN MORGENSTERN. YOU GOOD FOR NOTHING PIECE OF .. *sigh* . BUT VALENTINE . YOU DEVIL SPAWN . HOW DARE YOU. UGH. YOU . YOU…… BUTTFACE. I AM SO ANGRY AT YOU, BUT I ALSO FEEL SORRY FOR YOU AND YOU JUST MAKE ME WANT TO KILL YOU AND REVIVE YOU INTO A BETTER PERSON (ya feel me?) . And oh godsssssss. Clary. You are still Clary Morgenstern-Fairchild (right?) , Valentine is really your father. And JACE! You are not tied to this evil overlord piece of crap Valentine Morgenstern!!!! Thank the Angel! But ooohhh, the feeelllsssss! If Isabelle and Simon didn’t have sex, then what the Hades did they do?!?!?! I’m still convinced that he got it in. Haha, i haven’t even finished the book and I’m like this. Sorry. Some parts in this book made me so emotional I threw the book down and stared at it, long and hard, trying to process everything. R.I.P Max Lightwood. Oh baby, when you died I was in tears! And gods. I SOOO SHIP LUKE AND JOCELYN!!!!!!!!! They’re just so perfect together.

I really liked Jocelyn’s story about Valentine, it really let the reader understand who Valentine was before instead of just being known as “oh yeah, Valentine Morgenstern, the psychotic Shadowhunter who went batshit crazy for power” , even though he was already psychotic and batshit crazy for power before (batshit is one of my new favorite swear words because it makes me laugh) . City of Glass is my current favorite Mortal Instruments book .

I was sad about Hodge’s death though. Even if he betrayed them once, he tried to stop Valentine. And oooh JONATHAN MORGENSTERN. IM SO GLAD IZZY CUT YOUR HAND OFF. YOU LITTLE .. ooh i really hope you die. And Isabelle!! guuuuuurl! You did the damn thing! I always liked you . AND OHMIGODS. Malec for lyf. Yup. I SHIP IT. THAT KISS THOUGH, that was sweeeeet! Oh gods. I hope Jace and Clary get together like ASAP.  Valentine, you may be messed up in the brain, but i don’t think he’s completely evil. I mean, he’s a bit disgusted at Jonathan, because Jonathan is like.. psychotic to the max. JONATHAN YOU LITTLE COWARDLY PUNK. STRIKING ISABELLE FROM BEHIND IS LOW, that sounded wrong, you know what I mean. BUT YOU GO JACE! I really do hope Jonathan is dead. and YOU GO HUGIN. I always knew there was something off about Malachi.

OH JACE!!!  You came to save Clary! OOOH. YEAH! GET SASSY WITH VALENTINE! SASSY JACE ! Wait… What? How did Valentine get the sword. What up with that silver bullet? I am so confused. If anyone can clarify, that’d be great…

Obviously, Jace can’t be dead, so i’m not worried. Nope, nope, nope, nope, not dead.

Oh my gods! YOU GO RAZIEL! THANK GODS! GOODBYE VALENTINE, HAVE A NICE TIME IN HELL! sorry not sorry. I hope when this is all over Jace and Clary make-out and spend time together and all that jazz. oh gods. Clutching the book to my heart, the feeeels! Its. Just. So. Beautiful. Oh gods. “I love you, Clary wanted to say. And, i would do it again. I would  always ask for you” I CANT EVEN. And that scene where Amatis was talking to Jace, it was just so.. i don’t know the words to explain it. Sad? Heart-breakingly sad? Heart-wrenching. That’s the word. It was just so heart-wrenching of her to talk about Jace’s father, Stephan, like that.

Ohhhhhh my godsssss. “I love you Jocelyn, I have for twenty years” oh gods, here come the tears. This. Is. Just. Too. Much. For. A. Fanwarrior (fangirl, just more kickass). To. Handle!!!! Oh gods. MY OTP IS CANNON. BOTH OF THEM!

The celebration seems amazing. I would love to actually see all the people dressed so nicely. hahahah oh gods, Simon! “You want a piece of all this fabulousness…”

I wonder what the Seelie Queen meant. I bet i’ll find out in the future books. I’m a little scared to find out, to be completely honest. But, I need to know. I’d rather know than not know, you know?

This book was beautiful, my current favorite in this series. And I’ll probably say that about the next one, and the one after that. Only after I finish them all, will I be able to choose, obviously.

PRO’S:

✔ The ACTION

✔ The suspense

✔ The mystery

✔ How it actually made you feel like you’re a part of the book and you’re actually there

CON’S:

lol @ you if you thought there would be cons after reading my whole fangirl rave above .

Please Comment :)

