BOOK REVIEW: The Selection, #1: The Selection by Kiera Cass

5stars

Synopsis:

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world  of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon. But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.
Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself– and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

from dust jacket ~

If you’re a girl… I RECOMMEND THIS BOOK. LIKE SERIOUSLY. GO READ IT, AND COME BACK. IT ONLY TOOK ME TWO DAYS.

BE PREPARED FOR SPOILERS AHEAD

This book. Gods. This book. I was really skeptical about the whole “prince and princess” thing, but Kiera Cass made it work! I absolutely adore this book. Now let’s get to talking about the main characters since I have SOOO much to say about them.

So our main character here is America Singer, who in fact is a singer (and musician and artist). She is a Five. She’s secretly dating a Six named Aspen.

America ; I think she is incredibly amazing and empowering, in a way, for a female. She’s rebellious and fights (not literally) for what she believes in and sticks by that idea. Fictional or not, I think she’d be a good role-model. There were some moments where I especially wanted to slap and maim and hurt her, but there’s so many more positive reasons to love her as a character. But, I don’t understand why she would still have such strong feelings for Aspen. He broke up with her, for a stupid reason by the way, after two years of secretly dating. To me, that would be like a slap in the face and I’d never forgive him. But I don’t see any other qualities that she would like him for. She doesn’t say why she likes him so much, It doesn’t seem like love to me?

Aspen ; YOU STUPID LITTLE. SHDGABSDFIASBDGASDAG. I HATE YOU. At first I really liked you, I thought you were sweet, but obviously not. Throughout this book, I think after Aspen broke up with her and pulled that whole thing at send-off or whatever it was called (when she was leaving to get the other Selected girls who I will just call Selectee’s). And did you notice his mom said he’d been really happy for the past 3 WEEKS, when him and America have been together for 2 years. Something is not right. I do think he was seeing someone else. And now that America is famous and has the affection of Prince Maxon, Aspen wants her more then ever. Also, I honestly just feel like it’s more of a physical relationship, by the way he touches her and how he kisses her so feverishly. I doubt that he even felt “heartbroken”. I hope you died in that little rebel attack. Right now, you are pretty useless and contribute nothing to the story except friction between everyone!

Prince Maxon ; Awwww, you cute little thing. I really like Maxon, he’s just such a good leader but still has his faults every now and then. He’s so compassionate. Like when America told him about all the lower castes being hungry and he tried to fix it the next day. He genuinely cares about America and his country, which is very endearing. I think it’s cute how he doesn’t know anything about kissing girls or dating or any of that normal relationship type stuff. I think he’s a wonderful character to has enough strengths and weaknesses that balance out nicely.

I like how this is a dystopian novel that you actually get background information about. The Selectee’s had this whole History lesson which let the reader take a feel of where they’re living and how the circumstances are. It’s very interesting to read about.

I am very excited for “The Elite” which comes out April 23rd of this year. I’ll be sure to get it!

PRO’S:

Background Information

It wasn’t your usual “society takes over” type of dystopian novel

The cute parts aren’t disgustingly mushy

The characters are realistic and have their weaknesses

CON’S:

none. One of the best books dystopian books i’ve read.

One thought on “BOOK REVIEW: The Selection, #1: The Selection by Kiera Cass

Please Comment :)

