BOOK REVIEW: The Infernal Devices, #1: Clockwork Angel, by Cassandra Clare

4 stars

SYNOPSIS:

Magic is dangerous—but love is more dangerous still.

When Tessa Gray crosses the ocean to find her brother in Victorian England, something terrifying is waiting for her in London’s Downworld. Kidnapped by the mysterious Dark Sisters, who are members of a secret organization called the Pandemonium Club, Tessa soon learns that she has the power to transform into another person. The Magister, the shadowy figure who runs the club, will stop at nothing to claim Tessa’s power for his own. Friendless and hunter, Tessa takes refuge with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the world of demons. She soon finds herself fascinated by– and torn between– two best friends: James and Will. AS Tessa is drawn deep into a plot that threatens to destroy Shadowhunters, she realizes that she may need to choose between saving her brother and helping her new friends save the world… and that love may be the most dangerous magic of all.

from dust jacket ~

BE PREPARED FOR SPOILERS AHEAD

I don’t know why, but I always start these book reviews when I have 100 pages left to finish the book and I decided to change the layout of this review (I’m putting subtitles throughout this review because my thoughts tend to stray and cause confusion, so I find it easier to understand this way) But let’s get to it…

For me, the first 30 or so pages was sooooo slow and boring. Even at the first “battle” (I guess you can call it) between Will and the Dark Sisters was boring. But that’s just my opinion.

My thoughts/feelings of William Herondale-
I don’t know, I don’t find Will attractive the way I find Jace attractive. I wouldn’t want him as a boyfriend is what I mean and I don’t find him as sassy and funny as Jace. I don’t like to compare characters, but in this case it’s hard to explain my thoughts and feelings about Will. Me and my friend discussed this before I even read the book and she said that I would love Will just as much as Jace or better, but I don’t. Maybe I’ll change my opinion by Clockwork Prince?

Shippings-
This book made it hard for me to pick just one ship. I guess my most favorite ship is Jem/Tessa. I just really think they’re good together. But then again, I also ship Will/Tessa just as much. Okay, It’s like this ….

Jem/Tessa : 99.99% ship

Will/Tessa: 99.98% ship

You see why I’m conflicted now. They’re both great ships, and I can’t decide which one I’d like. Either one makes me happy.
I don’t ship Jessamine/Nathaniel . No, I dislike Jessamine and her intentions for liking Nate.
And I don’t ship Charlotte/Henry, I just don’t see the love?

The Automatons-
Okay, Is it just me… or are those stupid robots scary as hell! They somewhat look like real people but they’re just creepy. This is how I think of it, how can… bits of clockwork… actually work to make a killing machine. It’s just unreal.

Sophie, the Institute, and the Pandemonium Club-
So currently I’m on page 392, the part where Agatha gets attacked by that automaton, and I’m just thinking about Sophie. I feel so incredibly bad for her/totally empowered by her/want to hug her. She has that scar that ruined her face but she is still incredibly strong. I feel bad that it had to happen to her just because she refused to let that basically rape her. She just has had enough bitterness and troubles in her life that she doesn’t deserve.
This is just something that I was briefly thinking of, but In the beginning I was thinking “oh gosh, this is where the Lightwoods and Jace are going to grow up someday”, later then I remembered that this is the London Institute. I wonder If that thought occurred to anyone else?
How did the Pandemonium Club go from a evil organization to a nightclub for Downworlders? I think I have to finish the book to figure that out, but that is just confusing to me..

The automatons invading the Institute/Will and Jem at Highgate masion-
At around page 392 when Agatha was attacked by that automaton I wondered… where is Thomas? He would surely have heard that noise of dozens of robots bursting through the doors, right?!
Somehow I’m thinking that the automatons can take form of your greatest fear, like the fear demon Agramon, even though I know that’s not how It works. I just imaged that automaton coming from the staircase would be Tessa or Will’s parents or something.

De Quincey, The Dark Sisters, and The Magister-
So, de Quincey isn’t the Magister? So that means he isn’t head of the Pandemonium Club, right? I think that it was actually Mortmain all along. Possibly. But de Quincey should be tortured, killed, brought back to life, then killed again. Gosh, how I hate him. Torturing and killing those innocent mundanes! He should pay! The Dark Sisters are creepy little things! They make me uncomfortable.

Thomas & Friends to the rescue!-
I have to give myself a pat on the back from coming up with such a creative subtitle. But YAY! I’m so glad Thomas, Jessie and Nate came to help Tessa, Sophie and Agatha! I KNEW HE WOULD COME! OOOOOOOOOOH I KNEW MORTMAIN WAS THE MAGISTER. YEAH SUCK IT.

Nathaniel FUCKING Gray-
NATE YOU STUPID LITTLE TURD MONKEY. YOU’VE BEEN SERVING YOUR PRECIOUS MAGISTER THIS WHOLE TIME?!? YOU KILLED AUNT HARRIET AND YOU LET YOUR SISTER BE TORTURED FOR THE SAKE OF POWER. I can truly say I hate you more than Valentine. You ingrate scum of a mundane.

Tessa and Mortmain in the Sanctuary-
Oh gosh. Tessa is so amazing. She is so brave, putting the knife to her heart and all. And I absolutely loved this part;

“When will you learn that there is no real Tessa Gray?”
“Get out,” Tessa said.
Mortmain looked at her with his pale eyes. “What did you say to me?”

I thought it was so spontaneous that it was actually funny.

Will and Tessa-
Okay, Now I ship Wessa more than Jessa. Yes. The whole part where she Changed and tricked the Magister was just soo clever! And Will  was going to kill him for hurting Tessa. I was just so happy that he came. I really wanted to see him hurt Mortmain, though. But I officially ship Wessa. But basically, Will wanted to have sex with Tessa because she is unable to produce children… what.

This gif summarizes Clockwork Angel perfectly…

PRO’S:

The action!

Not a mushy love triangle

Makes you feel various emotions at once

Split scenes (while Tessa is at the Institute, Jem and Will are at the mansion)

CON’S:

It was too uptight/the humor wasn’t entertaining or made it less tense

Please Comment :)

