BOOK REVIEW: Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson

3.5 stars

Synopsis:

Lia and Cassie were best friends, wintergirls frozen in matchstick bodies. But now Cassie is dead. Lia’s mother is busy saving other people’s lives. Her father is away on business. Her step-mother is clueless. And the voice inside Lia’s head keeps telling her to remain in control, stay strong, lose more, weigh less. If she keeps on going this way–thin, thinner, thinnest– maybe she’ll disappear altogether.

from dust jacket ~

WARNING: This book is very triggering especially if you’re dealing/dealt with depression, anorexia, bulimia, self-harm, suicide, suicidal thoughts, or any schizophrenic related symptoms.

SURPRISINGLY NO SPOILERS, READ ON!

Okay. This book is fairly short, so I don’t have much to say.

I finished this book in about 6 hours or less. Pretty bad on my part, considering that this book is nearly 300 pages (because shockingly I can read 100 pages in an 30 minutes).

I truly cried twice throughout this whole book. I don’t even think I was ready for what was in this book.

I’ve gone through what the main character Lia has gone through and it’s just sad and emotional to read about.

I’ve attempted/thought about suicide often, I tried purging and starving myself, I’ve cut, I’ve heard voices/seen “ghosts”, and it’s all very scary to hear a story like this. This book has made me more knowledgeable, I guess, about the consequences of harming your body.

I think It was an okay book, not one of my favorites, but okay. I would recommend this book to 14/15 years and up.

It was just one of those really honest and open books about life like The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Looking for Alaska.

Pro’s:

✔ The way the book is sort of set up like a diary

✔ The cover is gorgeous

Con’s:

VERY triggering

A little hard to understand, very metaphorical

Please Comment :)

