BOOK REVIEW: The Selection, #2: The Elite by Kiera Cass

the elite

4 stars

Synopsis:

Thirty-five girls came to the palace to compete in the Selection. All but six have been sent home. And only one will get to marry Prince Maxon and be crowned princess of Illea.

America still isn’t sure where her heart lies. When she’s with Maxon, she’s swept up in their new and breathless romance, and can’t dream of being with anyone else. But whenever she sees Aspen standing guard around the palace, and is overcome with memories of the life they planned to share. With the group narrowed down to the Elite, the other girls are even more determined to win Maxon over—and time is running out for America to decide.

Just when America is sure she’s made her choice, a devastating loss makes her question everything again. And while she’s struggling to imagine her future, the violent rebels that are determined to overthrow the monarchy are growing stronger and their plans could destroy her chance at any kind of happy ending.

-from Goodreads.com

BE PREPARED FOR SPOILERS UNDER THE CUT

This book was okay, the first one was my favorite so far.

I just finished this book maybe about 2 hours ago, I was just writing a belated book review of Everbound seeing as though I finished it 2 days ago and forgot to write it. Surely after I finish Infinity It might be the same. I have a whole stack of books I need to read so after I finish one, I take 20 minutes to cool down and relax (because I’m probably angry) and start the next one on my pile.

ANYWAY, sorry about all of that ^ . Let’s get this review started.

The Elite-
So now it’s down to four girls since Marlee married Carter and Natalie is being sent home.

Celeste, America, Kriss, and Elise. But really, there are two and a half girls left; Elise is only useful because of her connections, Maxon doesn’t love her. Celeste is a celebrity and Maxon uses her to relieve stress so it’s unsure if he actually loves her, but I don’t think so, so she’s the half. Then it comes down to Kriss and America, he loves America BUT SHE CAN’T SEEM TO MAKE UP HER DAMN MIND ABOUT ASPEN WHICH IS HINDERING HER RELATIONSHIP WITH MAXON. He fell to Kriss as a rebound and then started to like her like WTF MAXON.

Aspen and Maxerica-
Okay, I’m inferring that you know who “Maxerica” is, it’s quite obvious: (Maxon and America if you didn’t know).

I still do NOT like Aspen, nor will I probably ever like Aspen. HE WAS FEEDING AMERICA LIES. He told her she didn’t have the potential to be Queen and is talking about how Maxon is an idiot. I’ve just about had it with him. I hoped that he would die in the rebel raids. Of course I ship Maxerica but I do think America is being way too stubborn and over-thinking just about EVERYTHING. I still don’t understand WHY she would still have feelings for Aspen, yeah yeah you’ve been together for two years, HE DUMPED YOU FOR NO REASON, AND THEN HE WAS WITH A GIRL AND YOU SURE AS HELL KNOW SHE DIDN’T JUST “TRIP” INTO YOUR ARMS BUDDY! If America wasn’t yelling at Maxon, she was breaking down and having her emotional instabilities. For a smart girl, she was really dumb.

The War of New Asia & The Rebels-
Okay. So there’s a war going on, along with raids by two different groups. I would be stressed out too. But I really do wonder who that girl was that curtsied to America when she was up in the tree. She seemed important enough to me. I’d really love to see more of her! But when King Clarkson and Maxon arrived in New Asia everything was fine? I am so confused but okay, I’m gonna roll with it.

The Diary of Gregory Illéa-
This Greg guy was a real jerk! Still, America shouldn’t have done her presentation on the caste system. It was so illogical and irrational to do that. Especially since Maxon trusted her with the safe keeping of the diary. I understood why Maxon doesn’t trust her anymore.

Ugh so many feels. I’m done.

A gif that sums up my reaction to this book:

daaaaaamn

One thought on “BOOK REVIEW: The Selection, #2: The Elite by Kiera Cass

  1. Love your review! Could not agree more about Aspen and the problems with Cass’ world building (the whole Asia thing totally confused me). But I still enjoyed the book, and am excited to see where the series goes.

Please Comment :)

