BOOK REVIEW: Clarity, #1: Clarity by Kim Harrington

clarity

4.5 stars

 

Synopsis:

Don’t close your eyes. Except when the truth is too dark to bear.

Clarity “Clare” Fern sees things. Things no one else can see. Things like stolen kisses and long-buried secrets. All she has to do is touch a certain object, and the visions come to her. It’s a gift.

And a curse.

When a teenage girl is found murdered, Clare’s ex-boyfriend wants her to help solve the case — but Clare is still furious at the cheating jerk. Then Clare’s brother — who has supernatural gifts of his own — becomes the prime suspect, and Clare can no longer look away. Teaming up with Gabriel, the smoldering son of the new detective, Clare must venture into the depths of fear, revenge, and lust in order to track the killer. But will her sight fail her just when she needs it most?

from Goodreads.com

First I want to say how incredibly hilarious Clarity “Clare” is.

For example;

“You are a classy girl
she is a psychotic skankbag”

“Maybe she’s suicidal? That’s why she keeps inviting me to kill her?”

OKAY SO FAR I’M 28 PAGES IN BUT I SHIP CLARE AND NATE. OH MY. I HOPE SOMETHING HAPPENS WITH THEM.

That kid Gabriel sounds like bad news.

Oh gosh, this book keeps making me laugh!

“He’s your date?” Gabriel asked.
“No,” Justin said. “I’m the first one she called when the date went bad.”
I think the correct term for this was “pissing contest”, and though I was flattered, I didn’t have time for it.

But it seems that Clare is a guy magnet. I mean, she had Stephen, Justin and Gabriel crazy for her.

I have come to accept that Clare and Nate have a platonic friend relationship.

So now I ship Clare and Justin. Forever. Five-ever. Time to put it on my ‘ship’ list.

BUT I REALLY LOVE THE PLOT OF THIS BOOK. IT REALLY DID LEAVE ME WONDERING WHAT WILL HAPPEN NEXT. There was never a time where I knew what was going on, there are just so many twists!

The only problem that I had with this book was just how some parts were randomly there for no reason, like Phil, he has served no real purpose. Only maybe to get together with Starla later on, but that still is a little pointless.

But OVERALL IT WAS GREAT. I really like how her name is Clarity and she can see things by touch, because you get it, Clarity.

Geez, everytime I type ‘Clarity’ it comes out as ‘Clary’. Force of habit.

Gif Reactions:

Anything Clarity and Justin related:

I ship them soooo hard it hurts

When Perry talked to Victoria and she said he was the killer:

LA LA LA SHUT UP

After finding out that the “Victoria” tattoo on Gabriel’s arm is his sister:

tumblr_mj4or6lnmj1rfwgx5o1_100

Stephen in Clarity’s house, pointing the gun at her:

dead

Stephen shooting Justin:

crying

When Justin turned out to be alive:

tumblr_inline_mn8ze6DmWc1qz4rgp

this book was amazing. like wow.

Please Comment :)

