BOOK REVIEW: The Mortal Instruments, #5: City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare

City of Lost Souls (COLS)

3.5 stars

Synopsis:

What price is too high to pay, even for love? When Jace and Clary meet again, Clary is horrified to discover that the demon Lilith’s magic has bound her beloved Jace together with her evil brother Sebastian, and that Jace has become a servant of evil. The Clave is out to destroy Sebastian, but there is no way to harm one boy without destroying the other. As Alec, Magnus, Simon, and Isabelle wheedle and bargain with Seelies, demons, and the merciless Iron Sisters to try to save Jace, Clary plays a dangerous game of her own. The price of losing is not just her own life, but Jace’s soul. She’s willing to do anything for Jace, but can she still trust him? Or is he truly lost?

Love. Blood. Betrayal. Revenge. Darkness threatens to claim the Shadowhunters in the harrowing fifth book of the Mortal Instruments series.

from Goodreads.com

BE PREPARED FOR SPOILERS AHEAD

So as I write this, I am watching LOL for like the third time.  But anyway, let’s get to it.

The first 50-100 pages in this book sucked. IT WAS PURE AGONY TO READ THROUGH THEM. I’ve had this book since (brb checking my twitter for the exact date)…. April 2nd and I finished it literally 4 days ago, though most of the time between then was just sitting on my shelf because I read the first 23 pages and then stopped because Alec was being a little bitch.

BUT, when I finally got into it, it wasn’t all that bad. So we have Sebastian and Jace’s disappearance in the beginning and of course Clary freaks out, and then it usually ends up to be that Clary does something completely selfless yet stupid to get Jace back.

So she steals the faerie rings and goes off with Jace and Sebby into this inter-dimensional apartment, sort of like the tardis except less cool.

Honestly, I think Seb is such a cool villain. Sometimes I feel so bad for liking him because you know, he’s sick and twisted and completely gross because ew incest. But he’s so smart and clever for a teenager.

Honestly, the only reason I’m still reading this series is because Brother Zachariah a.k.a Jem Carstairs is in it and Tessa might be in it, and Isabelle Lightwood. Honestly, Isabelle and Simon are my favorite characters in this series now and my favorite couple besides Jocelyn and Luke.

Jordan and Maia are alright but they’re already happy together and lovey-dovey. Magnus and Alec are forever adorable but Alec is just acting so insane that he’s really pissing me off.

Clary and Jace, HA DON’T EVEN GET ME STARTED. THEY ARE LIKE THE EPITOME OF RECKLESS COUPLES, THAT IS NOT A GOOD THING. It’s okay to be reckless every once and a while because you’re human but THEY CONSTANTLY THROW THEMSELVES INTO TROUBLE BECAUSE THEY THINK THEY’RE SO TOUGH, BUT THEY NEED TO REALIZE THEY ARE GOING TO DIE AND EVERYONE WILL BE UPSET. Their relationship isn’t cute anymore ever since “He’d burn the whole world down til he could dig you out of the ashes” that quote gave me goosebumps, that is scary, it’s not cute.

There are probably two parts in this whole book that made me stop and like screech in agony;

The part where Amatis drunk from the evil cup and turned dark and evil and fought that guy and it said how she was dragged out of bed, I really hope they can find a cure for it because Amatis is too amazing to be evil and it would break Luke’s heart!!

And the part at the very end when Sebby sent the Institute that package with the angel wings and a note adressed “Jonathan Christopher Morgenstern” saying Erchomai meaning “I am coming”.

I was pterodactyl screeching at the end. THAT WAS JUST OH MY GOD.

I also want to know what happened with Maureen BECAUSE SHE FUCKING [excuse my french, but if you have a problem with my swearing go elsewhere (: ] KILLED CAMILLE. Yes, Camille Belcourt is lots of things: deceitful, mean, crazy, jealous, but she was such a great character!!!! I can’t believe Maureen killed her! If she killed Camille, then she is a force to be reckoned with!

I don’t know what it is with me and villains…?

But I am sort of anticipating City of Heavenly Fire, just for Jem, just for Jem!

a gif that sums up my reaction to this book:

daaaaaamn

Please Comment :)

