BOOK REVIEW: The Caster Chronicles, #1: Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

beautiful creatures

5stars

Synopsis:

Lena Duchannes is unlike anyone the small Southern town of Gatlin has ever seen, and she’s struggling to conceal her power, and a curse that has haunted her family for generations. But even within the overgrown gardens, murky swamps and crumbling graveyards of the forgotten South, a secret cannot stay hidden forever.

Ethan Wate, who has been counting the months until he can escape from Gatlin, is haunted by dreams of a beautiful girl he has never met. When Lena moves into the town’s oldest and most infamous plantation, Ethan is inexplicably drawn to her and determined to uncover the connection between them.

In a town with no surprises, one secret could change everything.

-from Goodreads.com

BE PREPARED FOR SPOILERS UNDER THE CUT

I wrote this review a while back so it might not be so great, but don’t let it fool you this book was amazing!

Macon Ravenwood-

Oh my gods. I’m 99.9999% sure I’ve been saying his name wrong the whole time! I’ve been saying it like bacon with an ‘m’. My mind was very conflicted with what he looked like. First, when Ethan talked about him (to me) he seemed like a raggedy old hobo (even though he had a nice house). Then, he was described (not accurate. I finished this book a week ago. I forgot some specific details, okay. Sue me) as nicely dressed and well groomed, so then I imagine him younger than how he was. I didn’t hate his character, but he wasn’t my favorite either. I think his power is scary. Feeding on dreams, well I guess it is better than feeding on blood.

Ethan Wate-
At first, I was so sure he was secretly a Caster. But I think his relationship with Lena is so cute. Like the whole “you’re Mortal but I love you and love conquers all” type of love story. I like his Southern accent and I think it’s cute, especially that he isn’t such a country hick. He’s a civilized, somewhat intelligent, Southern boy.

Lena Duchannes-
You don’t understand how proud I was to pronounce her name right. Delirium really messed with my head how “Lena” was pronounced “Leyna” that really bothered me. But anyway, I think she was so beautifully cultured (I LOVE POETRY TOO) and so headstrong, I really admired her character.

Beautiful Creatures movie-
THIS MOVIE MADE ME SO EXTREMELY HAPPY. I wanted them to make out some more. They are the cutest things! I can’t wait for the Beautiful Darkness movie (if they’re even making it)

I was surprised to like this book, actually. But it was great!

A gif that sums up my reaction to this book:

tumblr_mcw9rtmBIi1r6r7t1

Please Comment :)

