BOOK REVIEW: Shatter Me, #1: Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

shatter me

3 stars

 

Synopsis:

Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.

The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.

The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war – and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.

Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.

from Goodreads.com

BE PREPARED FOR SPOILERS UNDER THE CUT

Okaaay. I know it’s been a while, I apologize. I started school two weeks ago and It’s a lot to take in. I’m getting back into reading now. I finished this book the last week of summer, so like 3 weeks ago. I haven’t had time to review it. I’m a little rusty, but here goes nothing…

At first when I was reading this book I was really bored, to be honest. I felt really confused In the beginning. It’s a very weird because I love, but at the same time, hate the writing style. There’s a lot of cross-outs like she was writing in a journal like this. I think it’s really creative but at the same time a little random. Also, Juliette would repeat words a lot so it was like seeing her thoughts which is a kind of way of showing how the character thinks but it would sometimes be confusing.

But that’s just my opinion.

It’s really hard for me to find a good science fiction book that I like.

I really want to know more about these abilities that these people have.

So about the characters, Adam is my favorite character. I think he’s hilarious and I really like the history he has and everything he went through made me care about him. I also like Kenji, he is like a little baby and you just wanna pinch his cheeks because he’s so adorable.

I like the idea of the dystopian world that Mafi has created, it reminds me of Mockingjay and underground District 13.

This isn’t a book that I would highly recommend, but it’s a good read.

A gif that sums up my reaction to this book:

tumblr_lu6aslWYnH1qio1x3

Please Comment :)

