BOOK REVIEW: Gone, #1: Gone by Michael Grant

gone

4 stars

 

Synopsis:

In the blink of an eye.

Everyone disappears.

Gone.

Everyone except for the young. Teens. Middle schoolers. Toddlers. But not a single adult. No teachers, no cops, no doctors, no parents. Gone, too, are the phones, internet, and television. There is no way to get help.

Hunger threatens. Bullies rule. A sinister creature lurks. Animals are mutating. And the teens themselves are changing, developing new talents—unimaginable, dangerous, deadly powers—that grow stronger by the day.

It’s a terrifying new world. Sides are being chosen and war is imminent.

-from Goodreads.com

SPOILERS UNDER THE CUT

I started this  book in March 2013 and I just now finished it November 3rd.

I set it down after being about 100 pages in because I had better things to read and It really didn’t hook me in, then again, I didn’t like The Hunger Games at first either (I had to give it a second more patient try). I still really like the premise of this story. I will keep saying this til the day I die, but I really can NOT get into sci-fi books because I feel like they’re all the same, I think that was another problem I had with this series.

I enjoyed the characters though, as unrealistic as they are.

I really do love Sam Temple but what fourteen year old would be that self-righteous or brave to save kids that he barely even knows. I am fourteen and I don’t know one person capable of that. Of course, this is fiction so it wouldn’t apply to them. This is one of the few books where I really don’t have a problem with any main/important character.

No,  I lied. There is one character that I can’t stand for anything. Lana.

I don’t like her character, I don’t know why. I just don’t. Every time there was a part from Lana’s POV I would just roll my eyes. She was so boring. Ugh. I think that there are just too many sort-of main characters in this books, I mean there’s like 7: Sam, Astrid, Quinn, Edilio, Caine, Drake, Lana, and possibly Little Pete… so 8. This book just switches between their POV’s and it’s really annoying when it’s Lana, though I hate Drake with the passion of a thousand suns.

Drake is seriously crazy. He scares me so much and he’s not even real. He is a p s y c h o p a t h! He’s so much more evil than Caine and Caine is really evil and crazy.

Drake is batshit crazy and I’m scared for my life.

Apart from that, I really like it when Sam and Quinn say “brah”, it’s so adorable and I giggle like a 4 year old when they say it.

I’m a little hesitant to get Hunger becuase if it’s going to be all about them starving, I rather not even get it. I’ll probably get it anyway.

A gif to sum up my reaction to this book:

Please Comment :)

