BOOK REVIEW: Premeditated by Josin L. McQuein

premeditated

4 stars

 

Synopsis:

A week ago, Dinah’s cousin Claire cut her wrists.

Five days ago, Dinah found Claire’s diary and discovered why.

Three days ago, Dinah stopped crying and came up with a plan.

Two days ago, she ditched her piercings and bleached the black dye from her hair.

Yesterday, knee socks and uniform plaid became a predator’s camouflage.

Today, she’ll find the boy who broke Claire.

By tomorrow, he’ll wish he were dead.

-from Goodreads.com

SPOILERS UNDER THE CUT

Oh gosh, I’m looking through the sticky notes I wrote in the beginning parts of the book where I was in love with Dex, little did I know that he was the one that made Claire cut her wrists.

I have this weird problem with imagining all these male characters as Percy Jackson, no joke. I’ve imagined both Sam Temple and Brooks Walden as Percy because they’re described somewhat similarly. I also imagined Dex as Leo Valdez. I don’t know what my problem is with Heroes of Olympus characters.

Anyway, back to the book.

I still think that Dinah is incredibly stubborn and shortsighted, she didn’t even think about other possibilities. Even at the part when Dex tried to rape her too.

She’s not the brightest crayon in the box.

I seriously did not expect Dex to be the one who landed Claire in the hospital, nor did I expect Brooks to be the culprit.

I wasn’t really expecting much from this book so I didn’t really get let down. I was trying to decide how I felt about this book, teetering from 3 to 4 stars. It was a fairly good book, It wasn’t the most exciting but also not the most dull. The characters were a bit bland, but I really liked the situation and the circumstances. I would recommend this to people with a lot of patience, sometimes I would get bored and have to set it down so I can cool off.

All in all, it was a pretty great book. A lot of suspense and a little romance here and there.

A gif to sum up my reaction to this book (there’s 2 really..) :

Dinah and Brooks:

Dex:

One thought on “BOOK REVIEW: Premeditated by Josin L. McQuein

  1. This is very interesting, You are a very skilled blogger.
    I’ve joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your fantastic post.
    Also, I’ve shared your web site in my social networks!

Please Comment :)

