BOOK REVIEW: Chaos Walking, #1: The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness

the knife of never letting go

4.5 stars

 

Synopsis:

Todd Hewitt is the only boy in a town of men. Ever since the settlers were infected with the Noise germ, Todd can hear everything the men think, and they hear everything he thinks. Todd is just a month away from becoming a man, but in the midst of the cacophony, he knows that the town is hiding something from him — something so awful Todd is forced to flee with only his dog, whose simple, loyal voice he hears too. With hostile men from the town in pursuit, the two stumble upon a strange and eerily silent creature: a girl. Who is she? Why wasn’t she killed by the germ like all the females on New World? Propelled by Todd’s gritty narration, readers are in for a white-knuckle journey in which a boy on the cusp of manhood must unlearn everything he knows in order to figure out who he truly is.

-from Goodreads.com

*SPOILERS AHEAD*

I’m not sure what I think about this book to be honest.

I always put it down to read other books but when I actually did get into reading it, I read hundreds of pages at a time and I couldn’t put it down.

At first, I was annoyed by the spelling, I cringed every time there was a “yer” or “direkshun” but then I thought how clever it was to write it like that.

I still can’t pronounce Viola’s last name.

I liked how the put the name of the following books in this one (how they mentioned “the ask and the answer” and “monsters of men”)

 

I really liked the idea of the Noise, I think it’s unique. I can’t imagine having to live in a world of Noise. I would probably go crazy.

I didn’t really like the characters in the book, they just didn’t appeal to me. It doesn’t affect what I think of the book though, it really was a great book. I don’t like much sci-fi but this one is one of the best!

The development of Todd and Manchee’s relationship was really touching because it went from “dumb ruddy dog” to “good dog” which is beautiful (queue the tears.) I was really upset when Manchee died, you don’t even understand my pain. He was my favorite character.

The thing that really sucks is just how bad Todd has had it while transitioning to become a “man”. It’s like your finally understanding your future when it all just starts to change and along the way, the people you love the most betray and hurt you. It’s like one bad thing after another. It was so upsetting.

But I don’t understand how Viola can still be alive by getting shot in the stomach (because in the synapsis of The Ask and the Answer, It still includes Viola. I really want to know what happens next!

I will surely pick up the second book soon!

 

A gif that sums up my reaction to this book:

Please Comment :)

