BOOK REVIEW: Delirium, #1: Delirium by Lauren Oliver

delirium

4.5 stars

 

Synopsis:

Ninety-five days, and then I’ll be safe. I wonder whether the procedure will hurt. I want to get it over with. It’s hard to be patient. It’s hard not to be afraid while I’m still uncured, though so far the deliria hasn’t touched me yet. Still, I worry. They say that in the old days, love drove people to madness. The deadliest of all deadly things: It kills you both when you have it and when you don’t.

-from Goodreads.com

*MAJOR SPOILERS AND RANT BELOW*

Lena must be the most whiny, un-inspiring, dull, anticlimactic, female character that I have, so far, EVER READ ABOUT.

The way Lauren Oliver writes about her and gives her a voice is in a “poetic” sort of way meaning it was completely random words you find in motivational/inspirational quotes mashed together to sound good, it really made her the dull character that Lena is. The sliver of doubt that Lena has occasionally through this book is never passionate. It’s like when you type in song lyrics into Google translate and when the robotic voice reads it out all flat and lifeless, that’s kind of what it’s like to read about Lena.

She’s so un-passionate about her life and her decisions, even if she weren’t into the idea of being “wild” and “free” and doing illegal things like Hana, at least you would be passionate about being obedient of the rules. But nope. She’s so in-between in everything; she’s literally described as having an “in-between muddle of brown and green eye color” and “not pretty and not ugly” she’s the definition of boring.

That is, until Lena and Alex kissed in the sheds after the raid…

I finally understand now, I understand why Lena was so boringly mind boggling. She was a guarded child, unaware that the officials are lying to them. Love is actually not a disease.

About halfway through the book it finally starting getting good. It’s one of those books that gets better over time and there’s an explanation for the crappy beginning.

I might be wrong about this, but I think that Alex and Lena mentioned Romeo and Juliet earlier as foreshadowing when Lena was tied up and was making plans in her head to kill herself when Alex showed up on his motorcycle as Lena waved through the window.

I think the premise of “love is a disease” is really interesting. This book was sooo good. I feel so accomplished to have finished this in 2013, I thought I wouldn’t finish it.
A gif that sums up my reaction:

One thought on “BOOK REVIEW: Delirium, #1: Delirium by Lauren Oliver

  1. Okay, I really need to read this! All of this great reviews everywhere I look and my copy of it is just glaring at me from my bookshelf. Gah! I’m going to read this one now!

Please Comment :)

