BOOK REVIEW: Legend, #3: Champion by Marie Lu

champion

5 stars

 

Synopsis:

He is a Legend.

She is a Prodigy.

Who will be Champion?

June and Day have sacrificed so much for the people of the Republic—and each other—and now their country is on the brink of a new existence. June is back in the good graces of the Republic, working within the government’s elite circles as Princeps-Elect, while Day has been assigned a high-level military position.

But neither could have predicted the circumstances that will reunite them: just when a peace treaty is imminent, a plague outbreak causes panic in the Colonies, and war threatens the Republic’s border cities. This new strain of plague is deadlier than ever, and June is the only one who knows the key to her country’s defense. But saving the lives of thousands will mean asking the one she loves to give up everything.

-from Goodreads.com

*NO SPOILERS BECAUSE I WANT YOU ALL TO READ THIS TRILOGY*

What a beautiful conclusion to a beautiful trilogy– I’ve used the word “beautiful” for the Legend trilogy so many times, because that’s the most accurate word I can think of t0 describe the beautiful-ness of this book.

Marie Lu is a complete genius. The writing style was so enjoyable; it wasn’t so elaborate that it doesn’t sound unrealistic or so naive to sound dumb, the writing was realistic for every character and that gave each and every character a unique personality.

This trilogy was one of the few trilogies where I actually enjoyed every character. I don’t mean that I love every character exactly, but even the villains were written so well and they were so dynamic and had different layers to them that it made me like those character as their specific role.

Ms. Lu did a terrific job at developing the plot as well as the characters. The books tie together in the end, using details that I overlooked.

One problem that people often have with books is that there is “instalove” which basically means that the two characters fall in love at first sight.

But that doesn’t really happen in this series (I guess in the beginning, a bit)– before anyone wants to argue with me about this, read the ending to Champion and then tell me if it’s instalove okay? Okay, because it’s NOT.

June and Day had the most complex relationships than any other characters I’ve read about thus far.

There were so many obstacles in their way and they just faced them so well.

Also, if you don’t think this book trilogy is good enough yet, just keep in mind that I absolutely HATE science fiction and this book is more sci-fi than dystopian.

This trilogy is something that I will definitely reread one day because it was just that good.

One big thing that I always have a problem with (but didn’t have a problem with in this trilogy obvs…) is fictional deaths that are unjustifiable or unreasonable for the progression of the overall main plot, but yet again Marie Lu impresses me. All of the deaths that happened in this book were added for building the big REASONABLE conflict in later books. The deaths shaped the characters into who they are and explained the decisions they made.

So basically, everything happened for a reason, everything made sense!!!

THIS TRILOGY IS MY FAVORITE TRILOGY IN THE SCI-FI GENRE AND WILL PROBABLY ALWAYS BE MY FAVORITE.

If I haven’t convinced you enough yet, then I don’t know how many other ways to express my feelings of love and pain for this trilogy.

I hope you enjoy these books as much as I did.

 

A gif that sums up my reaction:

city of feels

 

i need a bucket for my creys

i will ship it in the afterlife

Please Comment :)

