BOOK REVIEW: Lux, #1: Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

obsidian

3 stars

 

Synopsis:

Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring…. until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something…unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don’t kill him first, that is.

-from Goodreads.com

*NO SPOILERS*

*warning: heavy petting and sexual innuendos* 

I found it a little awkward that Jennifer Armentrout (under the pseudonym of J. Lynn) writes erotica and YA.

But anyway, first I’d like to say the things that I liked.

I really liked the idea of aliens, I feel like it’s still somewhat unique, especially in YA novels. I didn’t like the idea of aliens before because I thought it would be boring, but it wasn’t as bad as I thought it was going to be.

Katy, the main character, is super relatable. She’s a teenage girl who lived in Florida and ran a book review blog. Hmm… sounds familiar.

All I need is to age 3 years, move to West Virginia, and find a sexy boy-next-door alien with wicked muscles.

The humor in this book was actually really funny, partly because sexual innuendos are entertaining. But these characters were snarky, sarcastic, and stubborn as hell; and If I keep this “s” alliteration going, then they’re also pretty sexy in all honesty.

I was reading this book from 11 pm to 4 am when I was waiting for time to pass, I wasn’t really looking for something deep– which I’m glad this wasn’t.

This book is very shallow and fluffy, but I needed some time away from deep books anyway. This was a really fun read nevertheless.

There were, I think, more things that I didn’t like than liked.

The big thing that absolutely bothered me was when Katy kept mentioning aliens– It’s already mentioned in the blurb in the back. Mentioning it once is okay, of course, because the character needs to be introduced into the actual characters that are Daemon, Dee, and the rest of the aliens. But mentioning it constantly makes it just really annoying and eye roll worthy.

Katy would always mention something sarcastic that was something along the lines of “at least they’re not aliens, aliens don’t exist, aliens look like ET, etc” especially when she was around one of them.

It was getting really redundant.

Let me share with you a part that really got under my skin–

“What were they? They weren’t human. What I saw was not possible. No human could do that.
No human could stop a truck on command, stay underwater for several minutes, or fade in and out.”

It was starting to get very Twilight-esque, I was expecting for Daemon to show up behind her and say, “Say it, say it out loud.”

Despite ALL of that, I still enjoyed the romance. Most of the time when Daemon and Katy were close enough to do the do I started squealing and chuckling like Goofy.

It was a good enough book but only if you’re looking for something light and nothing too serious.

Gifs to sum up my reaction:

Half of the time I was like….

and then the other half of the time I was like this….

 

2 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Lux, #1: Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

  1. I have this one just sitting on my bookshelf. It really does seem like a fluffy novel which is akways good! But I’m sorry that Katy kept repeating the whole “aliens look like ET or don’t exist” bit. Great review! Loved the gif summary, super funny!

Please Comment :)

