BOOK REVIEW: Shatter Me, #2: Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi

ig

4.5 stars

 

Synopsis:

tick
tick
tick
tick
tick
it’s almost
time for war.

Juliette has escaped to Omega Point. It is a place for people like her—people with gifts—and it is also the headquarters of the rebel resistance.

She’s finally free from The Reestablishment, free from their plan to use her as a weapon, and free to love Adam. But Juliette will never be free from her lethal touch.

Or from Warner, who wants Juliette more than she ever thought possible.

In this exhilarating sequel to Shatter Me, Juliette has to make life-changing decisions between what she wants and what she thinks is right. Decisions that might involve choosing between her heart—and Adam’s life.

-from Goodreads.com

THERE ARE SO MANY SPOILERS, OKAY? OKAY. (I’m sorry if that hurt you.)

Let me start by just saying the one thing that I just HATED:

Juliette Ferrars. 

I do not understand why Tahereh made her female lead so feeble minded and weak.

But the thing is, I can recognize when a character has weakness, It’s normal. But Juliette is literally weak all the time! She spent 4 weeks (or 3 weeks) at Omega Point not wanting to learn anything and basically just moping around, not caring to know anyone and making out with Adam. When she wasn’t with Adam she would just shut down especially at the most inconvenient times. She would either talk about this euphoria when she would hurt people and then almost immediately regret it all. Nobody has time for her to feel sorry about herself especially at a time of war. At first, I was a little angry at Tahereh and blamed it on her poor writing but in all reality, it was really only Juliette. The other characters were immensely enjoyable and had a good balance of strength and weakness, all of them except for Juliette. It was only when Kenji told her to get her shit together at the end did she become finally brave.

Excerpt from chapter 42:

I’m going to tell you a secret.

I don’t regret what I did. I’m not sorry at all.

In fact, if I had a chance to do it again I know this time I’d do it right. I’d shoot Anderson right through the heart.

And I would enjoy it.

My note says: “Nobody has time for your sometimes-sadistic, sometimes-moping thoughts about killing people Juliette!”

I am so sick of her character that sometimes I was really hoping she’d die for good but then, what kind of story would it be without the main character?

 

My favorite character is Kenji and then closely behind is Warner.

I love Warner. I don’t know what it is about villains that makes me just love them probably because they usually have a sad, tortured past.

I think Adam is useless too, because really what has he done?

But that’s enough about the characters…

 

I liked Unravel Me so much better than Shatter Me. I think Unravel Me had so much more action and it took me less time to read. That was a reason why I just started reading Unravel Me so late, Shatter Me took me about 2 weeks and it NEVER takes me that long to read a book, I read Shatter Me at the end of May 2013 and finished it mid August 2013. I thought it was incredibly boring so I never made it a priority to pick up the second one.

I will be buying Ignite Me maybe a few weeks after it’s release date on Feb. 4th.

I don’t think I can explain how incredibly more I enjoyed this book.

(One of my) Favorite Quote From ‘Unravel Me’:

“You can go to hell,” Adam shouts at Warner.
“Just because I’m going to hell,” Warner say, “doesn’t mean you’ll ever deserve her.”

 <— my reaction.

Gif summary:

The ending:

Warner: 

Adam:

Kenji:

Juliette:

 

Please Comment :)

