BOOK REVIEW: Mind Games duology, #1: Mind Games by Kiersten White

4 stars

Synopsis:

Fia was born with flawless instincts. Her first impulse, her gut feeling, is always exactly right. Her sister, Annie, is blind to the world around her—except when her mind is gripped by strange visions of the future.

Trapped in a school that uses girls with extraordinary powers as tools for corporate espionage, Annie and Fia are forced to choose over and over between using their abilities in twisted, unthinkable ways…or risking each other’s lives by refusing to obey.

In a stunning departure from her New York Times bestselling Paranormalcy trilogy, Kiersten White delivers a slick, edgy, heartstoppingly intense psychological thriller about two sisters determined to protect each other—no matter the cost.

-from Goodreads.com

*A FEW SPOILERS BELOW, YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED*

I went into this book without even knowing what it was about. I was very much surprised at what I just read, but in a good way.

This book was about, from what I gather, a boarding school for girls who have special abilities.

Mind Games is narrated from two sisters point of view, Sofia (Fia) and Annabelle (Annie). But first can we talk about how incredibly obnoxious those nicknames are. Yes, they’re “cool” and “different” but it just irked me, and I never could read her name as “Fia”, so I’ll be calling her Sofia from now on.

Only two characters absolutely disgusted me: Annie and James.

Annie for being so highly moral, trying in vain to get Sofia on the right track when really, her and her moralistic ways has only pushed Sofia even more away. She was always nagging about what was good for Sofia and would tell her not do things like kissing.

James; sexy, manipulative, lying, James. The boy with the booze. I have mixed feelings about him, only because you can’t really be sure if he’s lying. He’s playing on all sides in order to get what he wants and he’s shady enough that you don’t know where his loyalties lie or how far he’d go to achieving his goals. That not only makes him dangerous, but his hidden compassion also makes him frustrating.

The last thing I didn’t like about this book was the placement of the flashbacks, because on one hand, I found them really helpful, but on the other hand, they were so similar to the present that I didn’t even know what time the book was being told in. I think they should’ve been less frequent and more concise and to get to the point without having an extraneous amount of back-story.

But let’s go on to what I did like!

I really liked Sofia’s character. I think everything she did was appropriate to the situation and was never out of place or odd. Her having to kill all these people would definitely cause PTSD and would very much make her try to kill herself. Often, PTSD leads to depression which leads to substance abuse. I think Sofia was such a strong character, despite her self-destructive moods. She was very much kick ass and a great female heroine.

I also really liked the writing style, it reminded me of Shatter Me (by Tahereh Mafi)

The premise wasn’t completely original, but it was entertaining and was executed differently than you would expect. It was just the many different bits of ideas was put in along with the overall, main theme that made it so enjoyable.

I definitely recommend and I will be getting the sequel soon!

Gif summary

Sofia and James:

Sofia and Adam:

The ending:

The book in general:

Please Comment :)

