BOOK REVIEW: The Luxe, #1: The Luxe by Anna Godberson

the luxe

4.5 stars

 

Synopsis:

Pretty girls in pretty dresses, partying until dawn.
Irresistible boys with mischievous smiles and dangerous intentions.
White lies, dark secrets, and scandalous hookups.
This is Manhattan, 1899.

Beautiful sisters Elizabeth and Diana Holland rule Manhattan’s social scene. Or so it appears. When the girls discover their status among New York City’s elite is far from secure, suddenly everyone from the backstabbing socialite Penelope Hayes, to the debonair bachelor Henry Schoonmaker, to the spiteful maid Lina Broud threatens Elizabeth’s and Diana’s golden future.

With the fate of the Hollands resting on her shoulders, Elizabeth must choose between family duty and true love. But when her carriage overturns near the East River, the girl whose glittering life lit up the city’s gossip pages is swallowed by the rough current. As all of New York grieves, some begin to wonder whether life at the top proved too much for this ethereal beauty, or if, perhaps, someone wanted to see Manhattan’s most celebrated daughter disappear…

In a world of luxury and deception, where appearance matters above everything and breaking the social code means running the risk of being ostracized forever, five teenagers lead dangerously scandalous lives. This thrilling trip to the age of innocence is anything but innocent.

-from Goodreads.com

*SPOILERS AHEAD*

This book was so not what I was expecting, at all! I have to admit, I didn’t really look into it that much, but what I did know going into it was that it was about New York socialites in 1899 and there’s a lot of gossip and romance, I’ve also heard it to be a historical version of the show Gossip Girls, which it was. I’ve been meaning to pick up chick-lit this month since it’s almost Valentine’s Day.

This book put me through a range of different emotions, causing me to feel all the feels.

I, as I always mention, enjoy historical fiction and I am planning on reading another historical fiction book now.

I am so interested by the 1800’s, I am in love with the fashion, the customs, the festivities. If I could go back in time, I would definitely go to the 1800’s.

This story follows the Holland sisters, Elizabeth and Diana.

In the prologue we get a scene from a funeral of the protagonist Elizabeth. I was left thinking why, of all people, did she have to kill off one of the main characters before the story has even begun?!

Somewhere in the middle, I got lost and forgot all about the prologue. The ending ties together all the events that lead up to the prologue.

It didn’t reach all 5 stars only because the character were at time irritating but otherwise amazing!

It was a light read, but it was quite lengthy though. Approx. 430 pages of dresses and trysts and betrayal and backstabbing.

The ending really surprised me, I was so sure that Elizabeth had gotten herself killed. But I am so excited to continue with this series, I feel like I need to know what happened to Liz and what will happen to Diana, Penelope, and Henry back in New York.

It’s one of those books that are inexplicably good that makes it so hard to explain why I like it.

 

Gif summary

Penelope:

Elizabeth and Will:

The ending: 

The book as a whole:

Please Comment :)

