BOOK REVIEW: Fairytale Retellings, #1: Sisters Red by Jackson Pearce

sisters red

5 stars

 

Synopsis:

Scarlett March lives to hunt the Fenris–the werewolves that took her eye when she was defending her sister Rosie from a brutal attack. Armed with a razor-sharp hatchet and blood-red cloak, Scarlett is an expert at luring and slaying the wolves. She’s determined to protect other young girls from a grisly death, and her raging heart will not rest until every single wolf is dead.
Rosie March once felt her bond with her sister was unbreakable. Owing Scarlett her life, Rosie hunts ferociously alongside her. But even as more girls’ bodies pile up in the city and the Fenris seem to be gaining power, Rosie dreams of a life beyond the wolves. She finds herself drawn to Silas, a young woodsman who is deadly with an ax and Scarlett’s only friend–but does loving him mean betraying her sister and all that they’ve worked for?

-from Goodreads.com

 

*NO SPOILERS, YOU MUST READ!*

I just now realized that I will never read more about these characters. That thought just made me very sad.

The characters in the book were so lovable and unique that I just want more of them.

The twist on the Little Red Riding Hood fairytale was really unique, and again, better than I expected. I’ve been expecting so much less of fairytale retellings and I really shouldn’t because they blow my expectations away.

Sisters Red was such an action packed, emphasis on action!, fast, enjoyable read.

But first let me start by saying how Lett is such a stupid nickname for “Scarlett”, I guess it’s better than being called Scar because of obvious reasons (since she has a variety of massive scars including one that took out her right eye), but I digress.

Structurally, I really liked how the story is told by both March sisters, Rosie and Scarlett. Not being biased at all, but I thought Rosie was a much better narrator and character overall.

I feel like, personally, Rosie March had a much greater development as opposed to Scarlett. Throughout the book Rosie has experienced so many emotions that really shaped the storyline while Scarlett really only stayed the same. I found myself anticipating the “Rosie” chapters.

I did, however, wished that it would’ve been great to see everything through Silas’ point of view, if you really look at it as a whole from beginning to end, he is really the main character. The conflict really started and ended with him and I think he should’ve been a chapter POV character.

Although the novel was very descriptive I found myself envisioning the cast of Teen Wolf and the characters here, but that’s more of a personal problem though.

The werewolves, called Fenris, were actually really creepy to me. I think that the very descriptive diction Pearce uses really describes them very well, in a bad way, but still very well. The genuinely disgust me and I think that means that the author did a very good job at using sensory details to create the Fenris into something more terrifying than a werewolf.

I finished this book at 4:40 am, it took me roughly 5 hours. It was very enjoyable, I feel like the accurate rating would be more like 4.89 for just the vibe, but “the vibe” isn’t a viable excuse.

I really enjoyed this story and I would definitely recommend!

Gif Summary

Rosie + Silas

The March sisters

Fenris:

The THING that almost happened at the end:

Please Comment :)

