BOOK REVIEW: Chaos Walking, #0.5: The New World by Patrick Ness

3 stars

 

Synopsis:

In this dramatic prequel to the award-winning Chaos Walking Trilogy, author Patrick Ness gives us a short story of Viola’s journey to the New World.

 

-from Goodreads.com

 

First, I just want to point out that the cover for this novella (and the whole series) is absolutely gorgeous!!! I mean, just look at it!

The New World I absolutely adore it, I don’t know about you.

I really, unfortunately, didn’t care much for Viola in The Knife of Never Letting Go and didn’t care much about her now even after reading something from her POV and her life. She’s really boring to me and her boring-ness, for lack of a better word, was just unappealing and monotonous.

I’ve read a lot about foreign characters going to a foreign land and Viola tops the list as the most irritating to read about.

In the whole 20 pages of this novella, Viola starts pouting and whining about having to go inhabit a new planet, really bumming her parents out. She was turning 13 and I can recall myself at that age and I think it’s not her age that’s making her act to selfishly. For months, her parents were anticipating this huge opportunity to discover the New World and all she did was lock herself in her room and complain about the word “hope” and how she has none.

She could’ve at least acted more supportive.

I don’t really feel anything for Viola and I didn’t really care about her more until the middle/end of TKoNLG and I think it will really take a huge character arc to change my opinion.

 

Please Comment :)

