BOOK REVIEW: Evernight series, #1: Evernight by Claudia Gray

evernight

1.5 stars

 

Synopsis:

Bianca wants to escape.

She’s been uprooted from her small hometown and enrolled at Evernight Academy, an eerie Gothic boarding school where the students are somehow too perfect: smart, sleek, and almost predatory. Bianca knows she doesn’t fit in.

Then she meets Lucas. He’s not the “Evernight type” either, and he likes it that way. Lucas ignores the rules, stands up to the snobs, and warns Bianca to be careful—even when it comes to caring about him.

“I couldn’t stand it if they took it out on you,” he tells Bianca, “and eventually they would.”

But the connection between Bianca and Lucas can’t be denied. Bianca will risk anything to be with Lucas, but dark secrets are fated to tear them apart . . . and to make Bianca question everything she’s ever believed.

 

-from Goodreads.com

 

*MINOR SPOILERS*

Right off the bat, I was expecting something written solely about vampires in a GOOD WAY. I did not say the actual vampires had to be good, but just well written. I expected so much from Claudia Gray after reading her standalone Fateful which I enjoyed immensely. This book was more of a guilty pleasure, something entertaining to read but so badly written that it was laughable.

I am no way saying that this book was trash, but I did not like it. Maybe some one will enjoy it more than I did, but this is just my opinion.

From the beginning, vampires, only vampires, are not my thing. After suffering through the first 100-15o pages of Twilight, I was so done with vampires. ONLY. VAMPIRES.

I’ve never read a book ONLY ABOUT vampires. I’m exaggerating it because you need to understand that I like vampires, but they are better if written with more fantastical elements put together.

The first half of the book was about as confusing as it gets. There was no hinting or ANY type of clues that could even nudge the reader to process and conclude that Bianca is a vampire. By the middle of the book when a certain thing happens she’s just like “oh yeah, it’s like when my parents taught me all of these vampire secrets so I don’t hurt anyone.”

HELLO!?!?!?!?! I think I wouldn’t miss a HUGE detail like that in the beginning, that was because IT WASN’T MENTIONED IN THE BEGINNING.

So not only are there vampires, but a BOARDING SCHOOL specifically for said vampires.

Sounds cliche right? No, let’s throw in some not commonly used in literature vampire traits:

Vampires don’t really get hurt by the sun

Vampires don’t turn when bitten

Vampires can ONLY be killed by fire or decapitation

Vampires cannot be hurt by holy water

Vampire cannot step into consecrated grounds

Because that makes it totally original.

The only reason this book got 1.5 stars was because I sort of liked the characters (mostly just Balthazar) and I thought the humor was somewhat witty and funny.

It’s really sad that I have to continue with this series because I have the next two books.

I really do hope it gets better, but one can only hope.

 

 

Gif summary

Balthazar:

Lucas (at first):

Lucas (at the end):

Bianca:

The plot:

Book in general:

 

Please Comment :)

