BOOK REVIEW: Chronicles of Nick, #4: Inferno by Sherrilyn Kenyon

inferno

4 stars

 

 

Synopsis:

The heat is on, and a new threat to humanity has risen…

Nick has his driver’s license and he’s not afraid to use it. But turning sixteen isn’t what he thought it would be. While other boys his age are worried about prom dates and applying for college, Nick is neck deep in enemies out to stop him from living another day. No longer sure if he can trust anyone, his only ally seems to be the one person he’s been told will ultimately kill him.

But life spent serving the undead is anything except ordinary. And those out to get him have summoned an ancient force so powerful even the gods fear it. As Nick learns to command and control the elements, the one he must master in order to combat his latest foe is the one most likely to destroy him. As the old proverb goes, fire knows nothing of mercy, and if Nick is to survive this latest round, he will have to sacrifice a part of himself. However, the best sacrifice is seldom the sanest move. Sometimes it’s the one that leaves your enemies confused, and you even more so.

And sometimes, you have to trust your enemy to save your friends. But what do you do when that enemy is you?

 

-from Goodreads.com

 

**SPOILERS BELOW**

 

 

It’s like with each book, my love grows for the characters and just the story in general.

WOW. Is all that I have to say. Sherrilyn Kenyon is such a fantastic author! I am going to start her Dark-Hunter series soon even though I know a few books are erotic literature, I really like the Dark-Hunter world and I heard Nick makes a cameo in a few books as well.

 

I JUST FOUND OUT THAT THERE’S GOING TO BE A 6TH CHRONICLES OF NICK BOOK AND I CANNOT EVEN, I AM SOBBING.

Okay, I am okay, not really, but I shall go on.

 

The overall plot/action scenes kind of revolved around Nick acquiring his new junior Malachai powers and struggling with them but also Nick having these (for lack of a better word) illusions and hallucinations mostly at the end.

I have a feeling those illusions will be important in the next book titled Illusion, if you didn’t already know.

I think this book was so super mega important for character development, everyone’s character development.

It really tied together most of the earlier questions and brought to light the answers to the characters and it really leaves so much left to be resolved, especially because of that epilogue, but it did resolve some things.

The only thing that threw me off and made me bump it down a star was the epilogue. I thought it was really weird in a bad way. Sort of random and kind of irrelevant to that part of the book. I think it will make sense in Illusion.

There were also a lot of amazing quotes and scenes that warmed my heart and made me laugh out loud.

We are all the writers of our lives. We can make our stories comedies of tragedies.

and

I’m such a masochist to even try talking to you

 

I really admire Sherrilyn Kenyon’s writing and I think her characters are so well thought out. It’s actually kind of a miracle, I’ve been hoping to start a really long series and I think the Dark-Hunter series will be perfect for me.

 

All of the books from the Chronicles of Nick series are so fast-paced and action packed that I fly through them; It’s one of those books that take me less time to read.

 

I am so glad that I pre-ordered Illusion already, I just need it NOW!

 

That about wraps up my review, I hate it when I don’t really have much to say about a book I really enjoyed.

Shame on me for not taking sufficient notes.

 

Gif Summary

Caleb:

 

Nick’s character development through series:

 

Nick slowly turning into the Malachai:

 

Epilogue:

Please Comment :)

