BOOK REVIEW: Fairytale Retellings, #2: Sweetly by Jackson Pearce

Sweetly

3.5 stars

 

Synopsis:

As a child, Gretchen’s twin sister was taken by a witch in the woods. Ever since, Gretchen and her brother, Ansel, have felt the long branches of the witch’s forest threatening to make them disappear, too.

Years later, when their stepmother casts Gretchen and Ansel out, they find themselves in sleepy Live Oak, South Carolina. They’re invited to stay with Sophia Kelly, a beautiful candy maker who molds sugary magic: coveted treats that create confidence, bravery, and passion.

Life seems idyllic and Gretchen and Ansel gradually forget their haunted past — until Gretchen meets handsome local outcast Samuel. He tells her the witch isn’t gone — it’s lurking in the forest, preying on girls every year after Live Oak’s infamous chocolate festival, and looking to make Gretchen its next victim. Gretchen is determined to stop running and start fighting back. Yet the further she investigates the mystery of what the witch is and how it chooses its victims, the more she wonders who the real monster is.

Gretchen is certain of only one thing: a monster is coming, and it will never go away hungry.

 

-from Goodreads.com

 

First of all, I want to apologize for not reviewing as often. I haven’t really read much these days because of finals and all these crazy tests, but I’m back to usual, sort of.

I don’t really have much to say about this book, to be honest.

I though it was good, but not great. It was okay; Kind of just “meh”

From the start, I knew that I wouldn’t like this one as much because I don’t really like the Hansel and Gretel tale very much. I had more things that bothered me than I thought were good.

Whenever Gretchen would say “witch” instead of “Fenris” (after she learned that the witch was actually Fenris) really confused me because I get it that in the beginning she would confuse it, but it was almost the end of the book and it would say “the witch, I mean, Fenris,….” and it was just really pointless and just annoying.

I also didn’t like the fact that Ansel was supposed to be very critical and decide things on facts and evidence but would shrug off all of the weird shit that has been revolving around Sophia and the chocolatier. No normal person would do that, human beings are inquisitive creatures and it just astonishes me that he didn’t think as to finding out the truth, especially since he’s basically an adult (around 20, 21 years old.)

The only character that I loved so dearly was Samuel. He was a true person, he was a character with wit, courage, intelligence. He knows there’s something going on and he’s willing to get involved. That, dear readers, is what makes him such a great character. Not only is he just perfect, he is part of the Reynolds family which is seen in Sisters Red and will be seen in the next one, Fathomless, and I just adore that family. The Reynolds family all share the same admirable qualities which make them the star character.

Sweetly, to me, was just a big confusing mess of minor details that somehow combine in the end, but in a bad way. It wasn’t completely bad, but it just wasn’t all… there. It just felt like it was missing something.

It was a fun read though, don’t get me wrong.

It was very mysterious, which I love. I could never see “it” coming. It was like a big puzzle.

The action was also very good. One thing I can count on in a Jackson Pearce novel is action. It made me like Gretchen a little more than I originally did because she shared some of the great qualities Samuel has.

Having a kick-ass female protagonist is always a breath of fresh air.

Overall, it was entertaining and good enough to not make me angry.

 

Gif Summary:

Sophia

Samuel

The mention of anything from the first book (Sisters Red)

The book overall

Please Comment :)

