BOOK REVIEW: The Selection, #3: The One by Kiera Cass

the one

4.5 stars

 

Synopsis:

The Selection changed the lives of thirty-five girls forever. And now, the time has come for one winner to be chosen.

America never dreamed she would find herself anywhere close to the crown—or to Prince Maxon’s heart. But as the competition approaches its end and the threats outside the palace walls grow more vicious, America realizes just how much she stands to lose—and how hard she’ll have to fight for the future she wants.

From the very first page of The Selection, this #1 New York Times bestselling series has captured readers’ hearts and swept them away on a captivating journey… Now, in The One, Kiera Cass delivers a satisfying and unforgettable conclusion that will keep readers sighing over this electrifying fairy-tale long after the final page is turned.

 

-from Goodreads.com

 

*THERE ARE SPOILERS LOL, THIS BOOK RUINED MY LIFE.*

hahahHAHAHAHAHAHAHhahahahAHAHAH this book makes my heart hurt.

Let’s just start with the thing I didn’t like: I didn’t like how somethings were kind of thrown in there with no real meaning. It’s like The Elite and The One were so different that I don’t know how one led to another. That’s pretty much it, I don’t really want to elaborate.

But it was more good than bad.

The major things that changed for me between The Selection and The One was:

I no longer hate Aspen

I no longer want Celeste to die in a hole.

I no longer think that America is a whiny little bitch (ok, not all the time)

It’s amazing because all of those characters have gone so far!

Celeste was the bitchest, rudest, cattiest, selected out of them all! I should’ve guessed she’s just masking her need for attention with aggression. She really showed who she was in The One and I was so happy to see her grow up and be herself.

I also really enjoyed Aspen’s character for once in this entire series! He was always this wishy-washy, semi-permanent guy that was never stable. As a guard, he is so much more, firm, in both his physical and emotional being. It was really refreshing because he was so cold and unlikable and now he’s to be respected and I am, as much as it pains to say, glad that he is happy with someone other than America.

There was so much more emotion, if I do say so myself. Everything was relying on The One to put together loose ends and it did a really good job at it.

I was also very relieved that this book had a very different tone than the first two. It was much more serious, as it should be. Kiera Cass did an incredible job on this conclusion which I applaud because some authors cannot wrap trilogies (or series) up In a likeable, yet appropriate, way.

America has totally changed in the best way and it makes me so happy because now she knows what she wants and is no longer the same girl she was before. She’s a princess and she is acting like so; confident, empowered, and determined to make a change in the caste system.

I really love Maxon, I think it’s obvious but I like the little things about him: the way he’s so passionate about the country, how he genuinely cares about his people, he isn’t a royal pain in the ass, he is just a very caring person and he never brags about his princely/kingly status.

This trilogy is such a good fluffy, entertaining, read and I’m sad that it’s over!

 

 

Gif Summary:

Celeste’s character arc

Celetes’s death

Maxon’s “death”

Everyone dying

Maxerica  wedding

Aspen finding love

The book overall

 

Please Comment :)

