BOOK REVIEW: Perfect Chemistry, #3: Chain Reaction by Simone Elkeles

chain reaction

5 stars

 

Synopsis:

Luis Fuentes is a good boy who doesn’t live with the angst that his big brothers, Alex and Carlos, have always lived with. Luis is smart, funny, and has big dreams of becoming an astronaut. But when he falls for the wrong girl, Luis enters a dark world he’s never known, and just when he thinks he’s got life all figured out, learns some disturbing news about his family that destroys his positive outlook on life. Will that Fuentes bad boy streak come out with a vengeance and lure Luis to live on the edge like his new girlfriend and his own father?

 

 

*MINOR SPOILERS, SORT OF…?*

I have long awaited the purchase of this book. I am very proud to say that I am not sad because of the ending and I am even less sad since hearing the Simone was going to release a fourth Perfect Chemistry book.

Let me just include this photo because I can’t believe I am just now finding this. I think that this is a perfect illustration of the characters.

And with that, let us begin.

I’m going to write this review as if there was no fourth book (which is sort of true, it might just be a rumor)

There was nothing that was wrong about this book. Nothing!

Simone Elkeles is such a fantastic writer! Something I really liked about this series/companion novels is that the main characters aren’t white! White people are fine but we, as a reading community, need diverse characters and the Fuentes brothers are a good start.

I liked their mindset about their Mexican heritage which was made very boldly since one the main characters, Nikki, is Mexican but doesn’t speak Spanish or connects to her Mexican heritage at all. It works very well with the Spanish words used in Mexico (because even I, as a Latina, was having trouble understanding those words because they are not from my country) because it adds to the attitude of the Fuenteses.

This book, and also this series, is so quotable because I can barely go through two pages without having to mark  a funny quote. There was so much humor that I laughed out loud in public and I am not even sorry.

Her words slam into my libido like a bucket of water on a flame full of testosterone. I think my dick just twitched.

 

“Yeah, umm…” She turns to mi’ama and murmurs fast and furious, “whatthefuckareyoudoingwithacopinyourhouse?”

Compared to Rules of Attraction, click here for my review of RoA, it was so much more exciting and had a lot of action. A reason why I disliked RoA the most was because it was kind of just a different take of Alex and Brittany’s relationship from Perfect Chemistry. In Chain Reaction, it has more of a twist. Luis has goals to go to college and just his future in general which was what Alex and Carlos didn’t have. Chain Reaction made me have more respect for Carlos than I did in RoA because it’s better now seeing and experiencing him from an outsider’s perspective.

 

I was so relieved that this book/series/companions had a happy ending. However, the ending didn’t seem like an ending which leads me to suspect that Simone Elkeles is going to write another Perfect Chemistry novel because the ending of Chain Reaction introduced another Fuentes, Luis Jr Fuentes or just Junior.

It was refreshing to have (mostly) everyone alive… mostly.

I really hope that there is another novel because I have invested my heart in the Fuentes family and I’m not ready to let them go.

Simone has done such a phenomenal job writing these books that I really want to read more of her work in hopes to like it as much as Perfect Chemistry!

Gif Summary

“Chica”:

Luis and Nikki:

Marco (+ his appearances in the book):

Brittany and Alex’s wedding:

Brittany being preggers:

Luis not being a real Fuentes:

All the Fuenteses:

Luis in the LB:

Baby Paco:

Luis fighting Chuy:

Luis and NIkki’s kids/Junior in the epilogue:

Book overall:

Please Comment :)

