BOOK REVIEW: Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green & David Levithan

will grayson, will grayson

3.5 stars

 

 

Synopsis:

One cold night, in a most unlikely corner of Chicago, two teens—both named Will Grayson—are about to cross paths. As their worlds collide and intertwine, the Will Graysons find their lives going in new and unexpected directions, building toward romantic turns-of-heart and the epic production of history’s most fabulous high school musical.

Hilarious, poignant, and deeply insightful, John Green and David Levithan’s collaborative novel is brimming with a double helping of the heart and humor that have won both of them legions of faithful fans.

 

-from Goodreads.com

 

*SOME SPOILERS*

 

 

Another one of John Green’s books down, just two more!

 

John Green, as you probably already know, is a magical unicorn that writes some of the best (YA) writing of all time. This book is so far the one that I liked the least (co-written) by John Green. However, the parts that I didn’t like wasn’t all John’s writing.

After reading this book, which I’m assuming all of you who are reading this review did, I think it’s pretty obvious to differentiate between David and John. John wrote Will Grayson and David wrote will grayson. Actually typing “will grayson” without capitals makes me cringe, but oh well.

I actually liked them both, but I had a few problems with them but also the plot.

My favorite Will Grayson was will grayson but the most well-written Will Grayson was Will Grayson. Does that make sense?

I really felt more connected to will grayson because he will call everyone out on their bullshit which is totally me, but he also has his downsides. I think will grayson is super annoying. I bet a bunch of people would argue against me like “it’s just that YOU DON’T UNDERSTAAAND HIM!!!!1!” but I just couldn’t stand the moods he would get in.

I understand that he has depression and thinks about dying and all that jazz, but if you stay on your meds, you would feel better and not mOPE ABOUT EVERYTHING (see gif summary below.)

Since I’m already talking about the things that I don’t like, let me just continue.

I didn’t like how Will Grayson went back and forth between liking Jane. It was getting so frustrating because he was so indecisive and would say something like “I like her but we sbouldn’t be together because blah blah blah blah” like he was making excuses to not be happy and it just got old after a while.

That was the end of my “did-not-like” part. Let’s move on to the good things because there were lots!

I really like how this story was lgbt because I feel like it’s one of those topics that aren’t discussed as frequently as it should because people find it awkward. As a straight female, it was very enjoyable reading about the various homosexual characters.

This book is also very quotable. I have an insane amount of flags on my favorite quotes. The reason why it was so quotable was probably because it was so hilarious!

I enjoyed the humor quite a lot and I felt that it was exactly what a teenager sounds like with the use of swear words and vulgarity. It was very real, in a way, by using those swears and just the way the characters think, talk, and interact, it really makes the story believable even though it’s a work of fiction.

I like how this story was not only about romance and it was about love in general and friendship. You could tell the change in direction from romance to love when Tiny changed Tiny Dancer to be about love and not his life which was basically a huge string of boyfriends and relationships.

I also liked how this book used “gay” very loosely and freely because it’s a very big societal no-no to call someone/thing gay which I personally think is ridiculous because “gay” shouldn’t be considered an insult, I don’t understand how people are offended by it.

 

 

Well guys, that’s it. Hope you enjoyed!

 

Gif Summary

Will Grayson:

The humor:

Tiny:

will grayson:

Isaac being fake:

Maura pretending to be Isaac:

The book as a whole:

Please Comment :)

