BOOK REVIEW: Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

5 stars

Synopsis:

Two misfits.
One extraordinary love.

Eleanor… Red hair, wrong clothes. Standing behind him until he turns his head. Lying beside him until he wakes up. Making everyone else seem drabber and flatter and never good enough…Eleanor.

Park… He knows she’ll love a song before he plays it for her. He laughs at her jokes before she ever gets to the punch line. There’s a place on his chest, just below his throat, that makes her want to keep promises…Park.

Set over the course of one school year, this is the story of two star-crossed sixteen-year-olds—smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try.

 

-from Goodreads.com

 

 

This book was so emotional. I read it last month and just writing this review is making me tear up again like this is re-opening a fresh wound. This book was definitely not the typical romance and for that I am grateful. This was a very dark and sad contemporary which I kind of needed. Dark contemporaries are always the best.

I really liked how this story was set in the 80’s because I absolutely love the 80’s! I think it was interesting how this book was sort of restricted in the way that there were no smart phones and internet relationships and things like there is now and that is what you see so often and it was cool how, because it was set in the 80’s, they actually had to interact face to face to start a relationship which seems a lot more genuine. I’m an old soul, what can I say. I’d prefer to live in the 80’s than now, everything is so technically interconnected and complicated.

Eleanor and Park started off as two strangers on a school bus and Eleanor, being the new kid and not being conventionally beautiful, getting picked on by everyone including Park in his head.

It was so amazing to see how their relationship really progressed along with other factors to their relationship like people (family and friends) which in the end really ruined it for them.

I cried a lot during this book, most of it had to do with Eleanor.

Eleanor’s step father made me feel so sorry for the people that actually have to endure people like him because it’s a shame that people like him actually exist. Eleanor, her siblings, and even her mom was under his control by the physical and emotion pain that he inflicted on all of them. He, in the end, was the reason why Eleanor couldn’t stay with Park and that is also another reason to hate him because his SELFISH, COWARDLY self made her feel so unsafe that she had to leave.

Her real father was no help though, either.

That just made me so upset because no one should have to go through that abuse and it’s just so sad.

Whenever Eleanor would get picked on by Park’s “friends” and almost everyone at school, I would also get upset and cry because when the evil girls from gym class put her clothes in the toilet and made her walk around school with her jumpsuit made her start crying really just bothered me. Eleanor has such bad luck and I just suckssssss!!

The writing was so good and not obnoxiously annoying. I really want to read more of Rainbow’s books because even if I’m skeptical of the plot (which I am of Fangirl) I think I will at least love her writing style.

Eleanor and Park ruined my life and I should’ve known since the synopsis said they were “star-crossed.”

Gif Summary

Park:

Eleanor:

Everyone picking on Eleanor: 

Eleanor’s family:

Eleanor and Park getting together:

Eleanor running away:

The book overall:

Please Comment :)

