BOOK REVIEW: The Mortal Instruments, #6: City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare

cohf

5 stars

Synopsis:

 

ΕRCHOMAI, SEBASTIAN HAD SAID.

I am coming.

Darkness returns to the Shadowhunter world. As their society falls apart around them, Clary, Jace, Simon and their friends must band together to fight the greatest evil the Nephilim have ever faced: Clary’s own brother. Nothing in the world can defeat him — must they journey to another world to find the chance?

 

-from Goodreads.com

 

*MAJOR SPOILERS*

This book was very gigantic! 725 pages! By far, the longest book I’ve read. There’s so much to talk about that I don’t think this book review could give it justice.

City of Heavenly Fire was abundant in characters. There were so many new characters! I’m going to talk about some of the most important ones in the book: Clary, Jace, Sebastian, Isabelle, Simon, Alec, Magnus, Tessa, Jem, The Blackthorns + Emma Carstairs, and lightly touch upon Maia, Jordan, Raphael and other minor characters.

If you weren’t aware, Cassandra Clare said on Twitter that 6 people will die and 1 is a boyfriend. Here are the 6 that died (in order):

  1. Jordan
  2. Rufus
  3. Meliorn
  4. Raphael
  5. Amatis
  6. Sebastian (Jonathan)

I was only upset for #4 and half upset for #6 because not only did Sebastian die, but Jonathan died. Jonathan, the brother and son that Clary and Jocelyn could have had.

 

One of the most brilliant things about this series is the beautiful way all of her books intertwine. Old characters from The Infernal Devices make appearances throughout this book (and they will also be in The Last Hours and possibly The Bane Chronicles) as well as a character from The Mortal Instruments being in The Infernal Devices and the surviving characters appearing in The Dark Artifices.

I will try to write my review in chronological order, but we’ll see how that goes.

Starting with the prologue, I can start by saying how much I love the Blackthorns, especially Tiberius (Ty). Ever since Cassie has given us info about the Blackthorns, I knew that I would like Ty and I do he’s adorbs. I know just researched about him and found out that he’s autistic, which doesn’t change my opinion, but I never would’ve guessed! I just thought he was very stubborn. But all the Blackthorns are fantastic.

There were some things in the beginning that I just did not understand, how would Jocelyn know Jessamine Lovelace.

But let’s keep going.

Whenever Simon and Isabelle were being all cute (“Lord Montgomery”) I couldn’t help but squeal really loud. I don’t know about you, but I am totally shipping Sizzy. I really enjoyed how their relationship progressed throughout the book and since Isabelle is my favorite character, I liked how she had a more important part in the book. Isabelle is as much as a kick-ass character as Clary is and she finally got the spotlight she deserved.

City of Heavenly Fire really highlighted the more intimate moments between characters. Intimate by sex and feelings.

Isabelle is a more caring person than she was in the earlier books, she saw love as a weakness but now she’s embracing it. It kind of sucks that she didn’t get the happily ever after she should have had, but she might have since we didn’t really get to see what happened with Simon after the thing that happened at the end which I will get to soon enough.

 

Since City of Lost Souls, Simon no longer has the Mark of Cain which I expected to be such a big part of the book, I expected everyone to be after him, to kill him. But no. Even though I didn’t want that to happen, it was kind of just what I expected.

Simon, and everyone else, became so mature and wise. At the end, he gave up his memories for Magnus’ life and that was a huge sacrifice! At the end, he had no memory of the Shadowhunters or their world, became mortal, and even forgot about Clary. It made me very emotional because I’ve read a bunch of books with memory loss and it’s so confusing and I can’t even begin to imagine living and forgetting everything. That’s just unfathomable.

 

I am proud to say that I now love Jace again. I loved him in the first three books but then he started changing and it felt like the part of him that I loved was gone. In CoHF, he finally embraces his father Stephen Herondale and takes the Herondale name. Tessa, coincidentally, gives Clary two Herondale rings, one for her and one for Jace. I’m just so happy that the Herondale line will continue. Even though I prefer Jem over Will, I love Will and I hope he died peacefully.

Let’s just get to the part that everyone was waiting for: Clace sex.

Everyone, including me, to be honest, was anticipating the moment that they would finally do it. Sadly, it was very, very, very awkward.

It started off by taking a bath in the cave lake-thing in Edom when it just ended up with them making out and then woops, SEX. That doesn’t seem so awkward you are probably asking, well, my friends, Jace just so happens to have a condom on him during their journey to Hell. I thought it was so incredibly awkward for him to have a condom because if I was a Shadowhunter on the highway to Hell, on a journey to defeat an evil mastermind, I would definitely pack a condom just in case I would have time in between fighting demons and I don’t know… SLEEPING?!?!

I just thought it a bit ridiculous.

 

Clary, in specific, was one of the characters that I was so proud of.

I don’t know if you know this, but I really did not like Clary since City of Ashes. She was always very reckless especially if she was with Jace. She wouldn’t make a plan and just throw herself into trouble and it was very annoying. In this book, however, she actually did the adult thing. She did plan to some extent, not in the beginning but in the end when it really counts. I’m really glad that it wrapped up as well as it did and I actually like all of the characters (I think.)

 

The one quick thing I have to say about Maia is that I find it so sudden when she got over Jordan’s death. I think she cried for at least a week. You’d be screwed up for a lot more time than that, but then again I feel like that’s something a strong person (or character) would do, so I’m conflicted.

 

Same thing that happened with Clary happened with Alec. I didn’t like him all that much but in this book, he’s very independent and confident and I like how his relationship with Magnus grew. I think their breakup was really for the best. They survived an almost literal worst case scenario and they’re both strong apart but they’re stronger together.

 

Also, random character, but I really loved Catarina Loss, Magnus’s warlock friend. Everything she would say was so much like something I would say in that situation that I just felt connected to her. I really hope she’s in The Bane Chronicles.

 

Now lastly, Sebastian a.k.a Jonathan.

I actually did cry when he died. It wasn’t Jonathan’s fault for being the way he is, he was just an FETUS when Valentine injected him with demon blood. Sebastian, though, did not deserve any tears. SEBASTIAN is a crazy fucker that should be killed with fire. He’s psychotic, vindictive, but oh so very clever. WHY DID HE HAVE TO BE SO SMART?!

Is it just me, or did you cringe as well when he was sleeping with the Seelie Queen? That was a very uncomfortable moment for me. What makes it worse is that Sebby only did that because of their alliance. I think he also did it because she, in some way, reminded him of Clary with the Queen’s red hair.

Speaking of being in love with Clary, that part when he told her to kiss him to prove her surrender and become his queen. I WAS SO DISGUSTED THAT I JUST COULD BARELY READ THE WORDS THROUGH MY WINCE. Sebastian is a monster.

 

But, overall, that was a very good conclusion of a very good series. Though, I think it should’ve ended at City of Glass which is coincidentally my favorite book in the series.

 

 

Gif Summary

TID references:

Jace Lightwood Herondale:

The Blackthorns:

Clace sex:

Edom’s hallucinations: 

Simon’s amnesia:

Jonathan’s death:

Tessa + Jem’s appearance: 

The book overall:

Please Comment :)

