BOOK REVIEW: The Wolves of Mercy Falls, #1: Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater

shiver

3 stars

 

Synopsis:

For years, Grace has watched the wolves in the woods behind her house. One yellow-eyed wolf—her wolf—is a chilling presence she can’t seem to live without.

Meanwhile, Sam has lived two lives: In winter, the frozen woods, the protection of the pack, and the silent company of a fearless girl. In summer, a few precious months of being human… until the cold makes him shift back again.

Now, Grace meets a yellow-eyed boy whose familiarity takes her breath away. It’s her wolf. It has to be. But as winter nears, Sam must fight to stay human—or risk losing himself, and Grace, forever.

 

-from Goodreads.com

 

*NO SPOILERS*

I have put this review off for a while, it’s so hard to write. I liked this book enough to continue with the series, but not something I would consider as a top priority. It was very “meh”, I’ve been reading so many books that are just… meh. They’re good but they lack something.

From the start, I though the idea of werewolves that change during changes in temperature to be ridiculous… I still do. No wonder I have put this book off for a year since getting it. If I hadn’t know about the premise and went into it blind, I probably would’ve liked it less. I generally don’t like reading synopses and I wish I hadn’t read this one.

It was very unrealistic (YES, I understand that it’s fiction), but honestly, what type of parents just leave their daughter at home alone for a week or never check in on her when she’s sleeping. Grace’s parents being so inactive in her life is convenient for her relationship with Sam and is just a little too odd.

Although, Grace and Sam’s relationship was the reason that I liked this book. I think this should’ve been categorized as mainly a romance book with paranormal elements. I think Maggie Stiefvater would be great at contemporary romances.

This book was very surprising because the main male protagonist wasn’t my favorite character and that is very rare. This could be interpreted in two ways:

  1. Sam is just a bad male protagonist
    OR
  2. Grace is just a kick ass female protagonist

The latter being correct, kick ass meaning more “awesome” than literally kicking ass because there was no major fight scene in this book.

Grace was such a great female protagonist. It was like the gender roles reversed; Sam being sensitive and Grace being brave. Even though I really hate gender roles (why can’t a guy be sensitive?!?) so I kind of contradict myself, but that really explains just how hard this is because I like and disliked this in a very weird way almost like playing tug of war and both sides being pulled equally.

Sometimes, I did find Grace very awkward. I don’t know if this is probably going to develop throughout the trilogy, but I found it so strange when Grace would snarl and growl as a human. Maybe, I’m predicting, that she will turn into a werewolf? If this doesn’t happen, then the random snarling would really be weird. Along with the snarling thing, I find it weird that Grace doesn’t even consider the fact that she might be a werewolf. Sam and her friend (Olivia, I think…) ask her if she’s ever changed and she doesn’t mention snarling and growling as if it was a normal, everyday thing.

I find Sam’s lyrics and mentions of Grace in his songs very unnecessary and boring. It’s not like it adds something to the plot. He was like those pretentious guys that read poetry to their girlfriends, but in this case he writes it (poetry, songs, same thing.)

I enjoyed the characters and the plot more than the writing and the premise. IF IT WAS ABOUT ANYTHING ELSE RELATING TO WEREWOLVES IT WOULD’VE BEEN FINE. I think because she wanted to make it unique, she changed the werewolf theory into something else (i.e changing with the temperature.)

I felt like the last 10 or so chapters after Sam left to be completely boring and needless. It could’ve been condensed into an epilogue only with the important parts of the stuff that happened at the end.

I was mostly interested in the love story.

 

 

Gif Summary

Premise:


(I’m trying to illustrate my dislike of it.)

Sam:


(But really, how can you describe someone who is both boring and hot?!?!)

Sam and Grace’s relationship:

Sam turning into a wolf and leaving:

Jack in general:

The book overall:

Please Comment :)

