BOOK REVIEW: Sinners, #1: Branded by Abi Ketner + Missy Kalicicki

branded

5 stars

 

Synopsis:

Fifty years ago the Commander came into power and murdered all who opposed him. In his warped mind, the seven deadly sins were the downfall of society. He created the Hole where sinners are branded according to their sins and might survive a few years. At best.
Now LUST wraps around my neck like blue fingers strangling me. I’ve been accused of a crime I didn’t commit and now the Hole is my new home.

Darkness. Death. Violence. Pain.

Now every day is a fight for survival. But I won’t die. I won’t let them win.

The Hole can’t keep me. The Hole can’t break me.
I am more than my brand. I’m a fighter.
My name is Lexi Hamilton, and this is my story.

 

-from Goodreads.com

 

The first thing I need to know is WHEN IS THE SEQUEL COMING OUT?!?! I NEED IT NOW. This book was just brilliant!

 

The main reason why I was so interested in Branded was the plot revolving around the 7 deadly sins. I’ve been scouring Goodreads for just that and I heard about this book a few weeks ago and I was set on getting it and reading it! It really did not disappoint.

I made a reference in my notes to the colors of each sin which I had to review frequently because I couldn’t memorize them (the color corresponds with the sin):

  1. Lust
  2. Gluttony
  3. Greed
  4. Sloth
  5. Wrath
  6. Envy
  7. Pride

From the beginning, it was very much like a mix of The Hunger Games and Shatter Me (which isn’t bad, but I was looking for something original) but then it totally blew me away. It captured my attention since chapter one. It was like The Hunger Games and Shatter Me but after really getting into it, it was in a category all on it’s own.

The world building was done effectively, I never felt confused while the MC gave descriptions of places in The Hole or about the political turmoil with the Commander.

It starts off intense and left me wanting more.

I enjoyed the relationship between Lexi and Cole. No one can say that it was “insta love” which I’ve been seeing in reviews of this book but honestly, they despised each other in the beginning, it was a relationship in progress. Their love took my poor shipper heart on a crazy emotional rollercoaster.

 

*THERE ARE SPOILERS FROM THIS PART ON*

Okay, now I can talk. Chapter 14 was such a great chapter, not just because it was where Lexi and Cole had sexy time.

I really liked Chapter 14 because, even though they did have sex, it was very intimate and emotional. It was the point in the story where they were together and trusted each other, a crucial moment for the ending of the novel and a crucial moment in their relationship.

Even since meeting Keegan, I despised him. Even though he was supposed to be a good guy, I didn’t completely think so. I was really hoping he would die and then my wish was granted. I didn’t feel a speck of sadness for his death. He basically did what her step father did, which Lexi talks about when Keegan told Cole to leave. I honestly could not stand him “doing what’s best” for Lexi, she is a capable young woman and doesn’t need his input. Keegan really bothered me and if he would’ve lived, I would be very angry.

My favorite characters were Lexi, Cole, and Zeus (though, it’s really only Zeus.) They make such a good team and their personalities go together in a good way.

The moment that Lexi faced the Commander and saw that it was her step-father I kind of saw it coming but it was very intense. I really thought that Lexi was going to shoot him and I was disappointed that she didn’t but then moments later, Cole shot him and was happy again. I just think that if she would spare him, he would be a reoccurring villain that would never stop pestering them as they try to get the world back to how it was before the Commander.

I really want to know the reason why, and how, the Commander, Lexi’s step-father, kept his secret and what happened to Lexi’s mother and just why!!!!!

It was all so fast paced that I could not put it down. I would definitely recommend this book to everyone.

 

Gif Summary

The Hole:

Alyssa’s death:

Lexi and Cole having sex:

Lexi and Cole’s realtionship:

The Commander’s death:

Keegan’s death:

The end:

The book overall:

Please Comment :)

