BOOK REVIEW: Vampire Academy, #2: Frostbite by Richelle Mead

tumblr_inline_nh05rxwjm71stq6q9

4 stars

 

Synopsis: 

Rose loves Dimitri, Dimitri might love Tasha, and Mason would die to be with Rose…

It’s winter break at St. Vladimir’s, but Rose is feeling anything but festive. A massive Strigoi attack has put the school on high alert, and now the Academy’s crawling with Guardians—including Rose’s hard-hitting mother, Janine Hathaway. And if hand-to-hand combat with her mom wasn’t bad enough, Rose’s tutor Dimitri has his eye on someone else, her friend Mason’s got a huge crush on her, and Rose keeps getting stuck in Lissa’s head while she’s making out with her boyfriend, Christian! The Strigoi are closing in, and the Academy’s not taking any risks… This year, St. Vlad’s annual holiday ski trip is mandatory.

But the glittering winter landscape and the posh Idaho resort only create the illusion of safety. When three friends run away in an offensive move against the deadly Strigoi, Rose must join forces with Christian to rescue them. But heroism rarely comes without a price…

**THERE ARE SPOILERS**

As this series progresses, I love the characters more and more.

In the sequel to Vampire Academy, there is so much character building that I cannot get enough of. Rose especially has a lot of character building and it’s only the 2nd book! Frostbite is a lot more focused on Rose, her training, her life, etc. Romitri is a large influence in this book. If you guys out there are new to the VA (much like I) fandom/ fangirl language in general, Romitiri is RosexDimitri, the romantic pairing. I still am not a total die-hard Romitri shipper, but I enjoy their relationship. To put it simply, their relationship is “okay” in my opinion and I think it’s okay to just be “okay”.

I know Romitri is the main ship in this series but their relationship is not fully developed yet. A good relationship in a book can’t be rushed. It takes time, which is why it’s okay to be in this stage so far. I applaud Richelle Mead for her glorious work.

(Let me just get through this one more point and I’ll stop talking about realtionships I swear)

So an opposing force to the Romitri situation is Tasha. And. Dimitri. I think I can speak for (mostly) everyone by saying that was a stupid idea from the start.

I feel like Tasha and Dimitri just had a platonic brother/sister type of relationship. I didn’t think it would be anything more than that. It was a mere wave in the calm oceans that Romitri is sailing on.

Something I have realized about this series is that it is majorly character driven. The characters are the main developing aspects that sort of dictate the plot. There are so many characters being introduced in this book.

So now we have Adrian, Lissa cousin (I think..?), who smokes cigarettes and hearts alcohol. I don’t absolutely LOVE him, but he’s interesting. I am interested in his character and how it will develop in VA and eventually Bloodlines.

When Mason died, I was shocked, mostly. I didn’t think he would really die. But there he was, dead. I think the way he died was heroic but also a little dumb, although he would really do anything for Rose.

Let’s not even talk about his relationship with Rose because that’s just no. No.

I was very proud of Rose for getting her molnija marks but I just think after everything she’s been through, she’s going to be very messed up emotionally. But that’s just my prediction.

All in all, it was a great book with great action. I have bought the whole series and I can’t wait to read them!

 

Gif Summary

Romitri:image

 

 

 

 

 

TashaxDimitri:
image

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mason dying: 

image

 

 

 

Please Comment :)

