BOOK REVIEW: The Ugly Stepsister by Aya Ling

23162056

5 stars

Synopsis:

A Cinderella retelling with a twist.

When Kat accidentally rips apart an old childhood picturebook, she’s magically transported into the world of Cinderella–as Katriona, one of the ugly stepsisters! To get back, she’ll have to complete the story, right to the end of happily ever after. But the odds are huge: the other stepsister is movie-star gorgeous, the fairy godmother is nowhere to be found, and the prince isn’t interested in marrying any time soon. Can she ever return to the real world?

Format: Kindle
Published: June 10th 2015
Pages: 351
Date Read: June 7th (2015)
Buy It: Amazon

*SPOILERS IN THE GIF SUMMARY*

(I received a digital copy from the author Aya Ling)

Let me preface this review by talking about how much I cried. Not just because it was sad but I had a weird bond going on with the characters. It felt like what I imagine having children feels like. It was like I was looking inside of their lives and I was tearing up at everything because I was proud, happy, sad, and I don’t know why that is but I think it’s special.

I really admire books like this one, when they make you feel all the emotions. It’s one thing to have fancy writing and intricate plot details but this book really touched my heart. It made me feel things that some 5 star books didn’t.

The vibe given off by this book is very Pride and Prejudice-y (while I haven’t finished the book, I’ve seen the movie with Kiera Knightly twice). I love it, however, because it’s just the type of world I would like to experience temporarily like our heroine Kat. From chapter one, I was captivated. The Sailor Moon reference was a nice touch.

This is a Cinderella retelling and it made me watch Cinderella (which I did, twice). I loved that the story was complicated, because it’s one thing to make the main character Cinderella and have her fall in love with the prince, but it’s so unique that the story is told from one of the stepsisters’ POV and have the story play out that way.

I am really in love with this story!

Gif Summary

Bianca:

Poppy & Katriona’s friendship:

Prince Edward:

Prince Edward & Katriona:

Child labor in this story:

The weddings

The ending

The book in general:

Song(s):

Call It Karma by Silverstein

2 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: The Ugly Stepsister by Aya Ling

Please Comment :)

