BOOK REVIEW: Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion

tumblr_inline_niegmu0Ood1stq6q9

5 stars

Synopsis:

R is a young man with an existential crisis–he is a zombie. He shuffles through an America destroyed by war, social collapse, and the mindless hunger of his undead comrades, but he craves something more than blood and brains. He can speak just a few grunted syllables, but his inner life is deep, full of wonder and longing. He has no memories, noidentity, and no pulse, but he has dreams.

After experiencing a teenage boy’s memories while consuming his brain, R makes an unexpected choice that begins a tense, awkward, and stragely sweet relationship with the victim’s human girlfriend. Julie is a blast of color in the otherwise dreary and gray landscape that surrounds R. His decision to protect her will transform not only R, but his fellow Dead, and perhaps their whole lifeless world.

Format: Paperback

Published: November 1st 2011 by Atria/Emily Bestler Books

Pages: 239

Date Read: Jan. 14-18 (2015)

Buy It: Amazon | B+N | Book Depository

*NO SPOILERS*

I’ve been after this book for years and I can gladly say I have finally read (and LOVED) it.

To preface this review, I’d like to let it be known that I originally wanted to read Warm Bodies as exposure therapy to an extent. Exposure to the idea, I suppose, of zombies. I am extremely terrified by zombies and their appetite for brains. But this book was really something special.

I think the thing that really fascinated me and made me really enjoy the book is the way Marion tells the story and develops the characters, giving each of them a very unique voice.

R the zombie was very much sarcastic despite the whole being dead thing. I knew by the first page that this book was going to be great. And it was.

I have heard somewhere that this was a somewhat retelling of Romeo and Juliet, but if it was, it was definitely subtle.

You can tell the references to Romeo and Juliet by their names (R and Julie(t) and R’s friend M(ercutio)arcus)  but that’s where the similarities end. Seriously.

I’m not upset about that at all, actually, the story was so much more than a love story.

It truly was an adventure.

I have also heard somewhere there will be a sequel to this book said to come out “spring 2015” give or take 6 months to a year… so Isaac Marion, I’m waiting.

Gif Review

R:

image

image

R + Julie:

image

The writing style:

image

Sequel???: 

image

image

2 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion

Please Comment :)

