BOOK REVIEW: Never Never #1 by Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher

24871713

5 stars

 

Synopsis:

Best friends since they could walk.
In love since they were fourteen.
Complete strangers since this morning.

He’ll do anything to remember.
She’ll do anything to forget.

 

*Spoilers in gif summary, review is spoiler free*

My consistent thought throughout this entire book has been “this is gonna fuck me up isn’t it?!”

Currently, as I stare at this blank review, chills are running down my spine and I have goosebumps.

I have nothing but praise for this short novel and I intend to shower Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher in all of it.

A very simple yet entirely necessary point of praise is the smooth and cohesive writing in Never Never. I have read novels that feature more than one author before and it’s very easy to pick out a certain author’s piece from another. While it’s not a bad thing to have a unique writing style, unless the novel is an anthology, having drastically differing styles seems a little sloppy. I didn’t realize how important this was until I finished Never Never. Maybe it was the fact that I breezed through this in a mere 2 and a half hours or the incredible pace of the story, I could not tell where Hoover’s writing began and Fisher’s ended. This flow made the story so much more enjoyable and easy to get through.

Point number two: the story was very intriguing from the start. The synopsis definitely did not give anything away because it was very vague and I’m glad I immersed myself in the story without any prior knowledge besides the positive feedback of this book. (Semi spoiler– read at your own risk) I realized after I read the novella that I really appreciate a plot with aspects of amnesia. Possibly because of the fact that amnesia scares me and I don’t know what I would do if I had amnesia. However, I think this story has so many unique layers that makes it all the more unique. It’s romantic without being overly romantic. It’s funny without being cringe-worthy. It’s mysterious without being obvious. There are so many more “layers” I could think of but I decided to leave them out… you get the gist. I admire the hard work put into the story by both authors.

I loved this book so much that I immediately bought the sequel. I’m glad that I read this book in the last few days of 2015 since the third and last installment comes out January 2016.

Everything in this novella was so nicely done that I probably seem to repeat myself. I cannot wait to see what Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher have in store for the main characters!

 

Song(s) That Remind Me Of This Book:

  • Almost Is Never Enough by Ariana Grande ft. Nathan Sykes
  • I Miss You by Blink-182
  • Idfc by Blackbear
  • Stressed Out by Twenty One Pilots
  • Higher by The Ready Set
  • Bruised and Scarred by Mayday Parade

 

Gif Summary

The beginning:

fire_community

 

Charlie’s mother/family:

britney-spears-disgusted-reaction-american-idol

 

Charlie cheating on Silas with Brian:

horrified-gif

 

Charlie promptly punching Brian:

tumblr_inline_n7plxurmsi1r5innu

 

Silas and the Guidance Counselor:

unnamed-132

 

Charlie & Silas’s tattoos:

tumblr_inline_nvga74bun41tb9sz4_500

 

Their progressive relationship:

6172fd32ee5722d2bd7594e227d6f5b0tumblr_naeo7n52vc1tw1vhco1_500
tumblr_mrxj0kv2pf1riac4fo1_400

 

The tarot reading:

phoebe_stop_the_madness

 

The ending/how they will deal with their condition:

tumblr_mc3ubn0xeb1rvelc4o1_250

 

One thought on “BOOK REVIEW: Never Never #1 by Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher

Please Comment :)

